Katie McLaughlin Breaks Into Top 10 in 100 Fly

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Mission Viejo’s Katie McLaughlin is certainly having herself a strong TYR Fran Crippen Memorial Swim Meet of Champions.

Already moving into the top 10 in the 200 fly earlier this weekend, McLaughlin did it again in the women’s 100-meter fly.  Facing butterfly specialist Kendyl Stewart of North Coast Aquatics, McLaughlin hit the wall in 57.87.

That swim pushed her to 10th in the world, and downed her lifetime best of 58.50 from prelims.  That time, in turn, took down her previous best of 58.77 from the 2014 Pan Pacific Championships.

Stewart managed to place second in 58.05 to move to 13th in the world in what proved to be a swift finale.  Noemie Thomas claimed third overall in 59.02.

Santo Condorelli snared the men’s 100-meter fly title in 53.56, while Trojan’s Ralf Tribuntsov touched second in 54.00.  Clovis’ Carl Weigley wound up third in 54.07.

Sandpipers Erin Emery took home another distance event this weekend, this time with a 16:46.34 in the women’s 1500-meter free.  Teammate Erica Sullivan, 14, finished second in 16:51.10 with Allie Fogelman rounding out the podium with a third-place time of 17:07.04.

Canadian Brooklynn Snodgrass chased down the women’s 100-meter back title in 1:01.71.  Ingrid Wilm claimed second in 1:02.44 with Trojan’s Hannah Weiss placing third in 1:02.55.

Trojan’s Dylan Carter clipped Russell Wood, 55.53 to 55.78, for the men’s 100-meter back title.  Tribuntsov collected his second medal of the night with a bronze-winning 56.13.

Jordan Wilimovsky cracked the 8:00 mark for the first time in the men’s 800-meter free with a 7:59.72 for the win.  That swim eclipsed his lifetime best of 8:02.27 from the 2014 Pan Pacific Championships.

Sandpipers’ Logan Houck finished second tonight in 8:02.78 with Mission Viejo’s Nick Norman earning third in 8:06.89.

Kelsey Wog edged Tera Van Beilen, 1:09.27 to 1:09.52, for the women’s 100-meter breast title.  Bronwyn Pasloski tied Rebecca Terejko for third with matching 1:10.44s.

Nitro’s Will Licon cracked 1:02 for the first time in the men’s 100-meter breast with a 1:01.50 to win the event tonight.  That swim cleared his preliminary swim of 1:02.40 that stood as a lifetime best for half a day.  Coming into the meet, Licon’s best had been a 1:02.73 from the 2014 Summer Nationals.

Multiple Olympic gold medalist Kosuke Kitajima clinched second-place honors tonight in 1:01.98 with Trojan’s Jason Block taking third in 1:02.41.

Erika Seltenreich-Hodgson crushed the women’s 200-meter IM in a time of 2:14.99.  SoCal’s Ella Eastin took second in 2:17.12 with Nitro’s Regan Barney claiming third in 2:17.82.

Anton Panferov put up a time of 2:03.33 to clip Grant Shoults (2:03.83) in the men’s 200-meter IM.  Aquazot’s Corey Okubo touched third overall in 2:04.25.

2015 TYR Swim Meet of Champions Fran Crippen Memorial, Day 4 – Results