Katie Ledecky Earns Phillips 66 Performance of the Year Award from USA Swimming

GREENSBORO, North Carolina, September 14. AT the USA Swimming Awards Banquet tonight at the United States Aquatic Sports Convention being held in Greensboro, N.C., Katie Ledecky earned the Phillips 66 Performance of the Year Award. The 15-year-old earned the award for her performance in the 800-meter freestyle at the 2012 London Olympics, where she stunned the swimming world with an 8:14.63 to win gold. That time smashed Janet Evans' hallowed American record of 8:16.22 that had stood since 1989.

Ledecky had a busy day as this morning she had spent time at the White House in Washington, D.C., as part of a welcome home to U.S. Olympians and Paralympians hosted by President Barack Obama and First Lady Michelle Obama. This evening, Ledecky drew a standing ovation after earning her award.

Michael Phelps drew the other standing ovation of the night as he won the Athletes' Appreciation Award after concluding a magnificent career. Phelps finished his career in London as the most decorated Olympian of all time with 22 medals, including a record 18 golds. At his final meet, he won four golds and two silvers.

Geoff Brown of NOVA of Virginia claimed the Developmental Coach of the Year award, while Suzanne Heath took home the Ken Pettigrew Award awarded by the USA Swimming Officials' Committee. Meanwhile, Marie Wise picked up the Outstanding Service Award, while Pittsburgh Stingrays' Hosea Holder claimed the Diversity Inclusion Award.

Dave Denniston, who led the U.S. team to a strong outing at the 2012 Paralympics, won the Jimi Flowers Disability Coach of the Year, while Jessica Long nabbed the Trischa L. Zorn Award for the most outstanding performance of the year by an adapted swimmer after an eight-medal outing in London.

The Adolph Kiefer Safety Commendation Award went to Starre Haney of the Arizona LSC, while Paul Asmuth and Tim Murphy were selected as recipients of the Glen S. Hummer Award. Alex Meyer and Haley Anderson were named the Open Water Swimmers of the Year.

Female Open Water Swimmer of the Year: Haley Anderson
Fran Crippen Memorial Male Swimmer of the Year: Alex Meyer
Glen S. Hummer Award: Paul Asmuth, Tim Murphy
Adolph Kiefer Safety Commendation Award: Starre Haney, Arizona LSC
Trischa L. Zorn Award: Jessica Long
James Raymond “Jimi” Flowers Disability Coach of the Year: Dave Denniston
Outstanding Service Award (Disability): Marie Wise
Diversity Inclusion Award: Hosea Holder (Pittsburgh Stingrays)
Ken Pettigrew Award: Suzanne Heath
ASCA Coach of the Year (Presented at the ASCA Convention): Bob Bowman
Developmental Coach of the Year: Geoff Brown
Athletes' Appreciation Award: Michael Phelps
Phillips 66 Performance of the Year Award: Katie Ledecky, 800 free at 2012 Olympics