Julia Cook Wins Twice at College Station Speedo Sectionals

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Speedo Sectional Series is proudly sponsored by Speedo. Visit SpeedoUsa.com for more information on our sponsor.

Today marked day two of the 2018 Speedo Sectionals Championship Series in College Station hosted by Texas A&M.

Full results can be found on Meet Mobile – 2018 Speedo Sectionals Championship Series.

Aggie Swim Club’s Julia Cook began day two by dominating the women’s 200 back, winning by over two seconds with a final time of 1:53.19. Palo Alto Stanford’s Danielle Carter was second in 1:55.80 and Metroplex’s Vanessa Pearl dropped three seconds from her prelims swim to finish third in 1:56.11.

Metroplex’s Jason Park (1:43.17) won a close men 200 back battle, out-touching runner-up Gianluca Urlando (1:43.37) of DART Swimming by two-tenths. Heart of Texas Aquatic’s William Grant wound up third in 1:44.26.

Cook, who will swim for Texas this fall, was back in the water for her second win of the night, this time taking the women’s 100 free title in 47.82. Texas A&M’s Beryl Gastaldello was second in 48.21 and Golden Rebels’ Liliana Ibanez Lopez was third in 48.22.

Westminster’s Daniel Ramirez cruised to first in the men’s 100 free crown in a swift 43.24. He was followed by Dallas Mustang’s Kaan Ayar (44.04) in second and Katy Aqautic’s Kaloyan Bratanov (44.17) in third.

Katy Aquatic’s Emma Sticklen dropped three seconds from her entry time to win the women’s 200 fly in 1:54.88. DART Swimming’s Halladay Kinsey was second in 1:57.16 and her teammate Amalie Fackenthal took third in 1:57.43.

After taking second in the men’s 200 back earlier this evening, Urlando found himself on top of the podium in 200 fly after winning by over three seconds with a time of 1:43.55. Mansfield Aquatic Club’s Andrew Limpert was third in 1:46.83 and North Texas Nadadores’ Logan Davis was a close third in 1:46.86.

Texas Ford Aquatics’ Gabrielle Kopenski (4:43.20) added the women’s 500 victory in addition to her 1000 win from last night. Her future Texas A&M Aggie teammate Audrey McMurry finished in 4:46.62 for second while Club Wolverine’s Georgia Mosher swam a 4:49.17 for third.

Alexander Zettle also repeated as champion tonight in the men’s 500 free, taking gold in a time of 4:19.01. Rockwall Aquatic’s Ford Blaylock (4:23.60) cruised to second and Alamo Area’s Michael Calvillo (4:25.26) touched the wall in third.

Palo Alto Stanford’s A relay team Isabelle Henig (50.78), Danielle Carter (51.78), Sarah Snyder (48.07) and Brooke Schaffer (49.77) combined to win the women’s 4×100 free relay, posting a final time of 3:20.40 to win by over three seconds. Their B relay finished second in 3:23.68 and Metroplex Aquatics was third in 3:24.42.

Lakeside Aquatics’ Felipe Nielsen D’Orsi (46.89), Zettle, Tyler Johns and Jack Jannasch (44.63) won the men’s 4×100 free relay in 3:01.13, just ahead of Katy Aquatics (3:01.94) and Westminster (3:02.70).

Prelims for the third day of competition will begin at 9:00 a.m. CST.