Jose Finkel Trophy: Cesar Cielo Blazes 50 Free; Club Team Downs South American Record

SAO PAULO, Brazil, August 20. CESAR Cielo led his squad to a South American and Brazilian record in the men's 200 free relay to kickoff night one of the Jose Finkel Trophy meet, being held in short course meters.

Cielo, Nicholas Dos Santos, Bernardo Novaes and Thiago Sickert won the relay event in 1:25.28, while Cielo threw down a strong 50 leadoff of 20.81. In the individual event, Cielo paced semis with a 21.19 in the men's 50 free. Nicholas Dos Santos posted a second-seeded 21.40, while Bruno Fratus checked in with a 21.73.

In the women's 200 free relay, Daynara De Paula, Kelly Subbins, Marieke Guehrer and Etiene Medeiros won in 1:38.52, a meet record. The team of Inge Dekker, Lorrane Ferreira, Femke Heemskerk and Simone Koehler took second in 1:39.30, while Flavia Delaroli-Caziolato, Larissa Oliveira, Daniele Jesus and Tatiana De Lima set a South American and Brazilian record with a third-place 1:40.12.

Femke Heemskerk set a meet record in the women's 200 back with a winning time of 2:04.72, while Joanna Maranhao smashed the South American and Brazilian records in the distance dorsal with a second-place 2:08.34. Carolina Colorado held the previous South American record with a 2:09.12 from 2008, while Maranhao's Brazilian record had stood with a 2:09.47 also from 2008. Ana Carolina Alves placed third tonight in 2:11.42.

Leonardo Alves Santos took the men's 200 back title in 1:53.99, while Leonardo De Deus placed second in 1:54.10. Fernando Ernesto Pires finished third in 1:54.31.

Poliana Okimoto clinched the women's 800 free title in 8:40.15, while Ana Marcela Da Cunha earned second in 8:42.19. Bianca Avella finished third in 8:42.86. Luiz Arapiraca claimed the men's 1500 free crown in 14:55.55. Lucas Kanieski finished second in 14:56.35, while Marcos De Oliveira wound up third in 15:16.44.

Julia Sebastian claimed the women's 200 breast title in 2:28.74, while Renata Paula Sander took second in 2:29.15. Tatiana Sakemi clocked in with a third-place time of 2:30.18. Gabriel Souza edged Tales Cerdeira, 2:06.82 to 2:06.96, for the men's 200 breast victory. Henrique Barbosa placed third in 2:07.79.

Marieke Guehrer posted the top time in prelims in the women's 50 free with a 24.53, while Inge Dekker qualified second in 24.71. Alessandra Marchioro then led semis with a 24.72, while Dekker posted a 24.73. Graciele Hermann qualified third in semis with a 24.82, while Guehrer took fourth in 24.86. Dekker led off her relay with a 24.29.