Joao De Lucca Holds Off Urlando, Kalisz in 200 Free

Photo Courtesy: Melissa Lundie

It didn’t take long for the first close race of the day. In the first men’s event of the night at the 2019 TYR Pro Swim Series in Knoxville, Joao De Lucca held off Gianluca Urlando and Chase Kalisz to win the 200 Free.

De Lucca dropped two seconds from his prelim time and won in 1:49.48.

Urlando also dropped nearly a second from prelims and finished in 1:49.51, just three hundredths of a second behind De Lucca.

Kalisz was the third-place finisher in 1:50.47. to also earn an Olympic trials cut.

Jeremy Bashaw was fourth (1:51.40), followed by Jay Litherland (1:51.55), Drew Modrov (1:53.19), Jonathan Rutter (1:53.98) and Jacob McDonald (1:54.03).

Screen Shot 2019-01-10 at 6.30.22 PM
Photo Courtesy: