Ipsen, Fiala Repeat as Champions On Night Two of Men’s ACC Championships

Anton Ipsen after the Men's 100 Freestyle.
Photo Courtesy: Kenneth Martin

By Chandler Brandes, ACC Beat Writer

NC State is now in first after another strong night of the 2016 Men’s ACC Swimming Championships. Virginia Tech is a close second followed by Louisville.

Click here for live results.

500 Free

NC State’s Anton Ipsen won the first individual event of the meet in 4:14.53, about a body length over the runner-up. This is the sophomore’s second-consecutive ACC title in the event.

1. Anton Ipsen (4:14.53), NC State
2. Trevor Carroll (4:15.77), Louisville
3. Henry Campbell (4:17.72), North Carolina

Louisville’s Zach Harting won the B-Final in 4:19.75 and North Carolina’s Mitch DeForest dominated the C-Final in 4:22.91.

200 IM

It was a tight race, but Virginia Tech’s Brandon Fiala was victorious, clocking in at 1:42.26. This is the junior’s second-straight ACC title in the event.

1. Brandon Fiala (1:42.26), Virginia Tech
2. Soren Dahl (1:42.50), NC State
3. Nolan Tesone (1:43.43), Louisville

NC State’s Christian McCurdy claimed the B-Final in 1:45.07 and Louisville’s Grigory Tarasevich won the C-Final in 1:44.66.

50 Free

The Wolfpack took the top two spots in this event, led by Ryan Held in 18.92, just .01 off the ACC record. The sophomore edged out teammate Simonas Bilis, who won the event in 2015, by .02. NC State is currently the only team in the NCAA that has two swimmers under 19 seconds.

1. Ryan Held (18.92), NC State
2. Simonas Bilis (18.94), NC State
3. Sam Lewis (19.49), North Carolina

Florida State’s Jason McCormick took the B-Final in 19.68 while his teammate Ian Apple won the C-Final in 19.99.

200 Free Relay

NC State’s Held (19.31), Bilis (18.24), Joseph Bonk (19.13), and Andreas Schiellerup (18.97) dominated the final event of the evening, winning by over two seconds in 1:15.65. Their time was .03 off the meet record. So far, the Wolfpack has won all three relays of the meet.

North Carolina’s Lewis (19.65), Logan Heck (19.34), Nicolas Graesser (19.38), and Ben Colley (19.65) took second in 1:18.02, just ahead of Louisville’s Carroll (19.57), Tarasevich (19.06), Matthias Lindenbauer (19.97), and David Boland (19.55) who placed third in 1:18.15.

Team Scores (with diving):

1. NC State-491
2. Virginia Tech-487
3. Louisville-383
4. North Carolina-373
5. Georgia Tech-357
6. Virginia-342
7. Florida State-319
8. Duke-263
9. Notre Dame-257
10. Pitt-210
11. Boston College-126
12. Miami-92