Indiana vs. Ohio State, Missouri Men

BLOOMINGTON, Indiana, January 17. HOW fast can Indiana senior sprinter Matt Lenton go? The answer seems to be faster and faster every week as for the second-consecutive week he set a new mark in the 50-yard freestyle to highlight an Indiana sweep of Ohio State and Missouri in a double dual meet held Saturday afternoon at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center.

The Hoosiers defeated Ohio State, 163-137, and Missouri, 239-61.

Lenton broke the school 50 free record for the third time in two weeks and the second time today with a lead-off leg of 19.45 in the 200-yard free relay. His teammates Bryan Chovanec, Ante Zoricic and A.J. Miller brought it home for a school and pool record time of 1:18.20. That is an NCAA B cut, while Lenton just missed an A cut in the 50 free by 1/10th of a second.

Earlier in the day, Lenton had re-set the 50 free record for the second time in as many weeks, taking 2/100ths of a second off his old mark with a time of 19.82. Chovanec also clocked a personal best with a time of 19.85, good for second. Zoricic capped the 1-2-3 Hoosier finish with a time of 20.29.

"This was a total team effort," said head coach Ray Looze. "I am not displeased with anything I saw today. This team showed a ton of heart. We started the season young and inexperienced and we are starting to come around. We just need to keep training hard and swimming fast."

The men opened strong as Zoricic, Heath Tameris, Lenton and Chovanec won the 200 medley relay in 1:28.18. Ohio State's B team held a sight edge going into the freestyle leg but Chovanec was able to out-touch Joel Elber for the win. The B squad of Eric Ress, Daniel Sliwinski, Matthew O'Brien and A.J. Miller was fourth (1:30.64).

Freshman Ryan Hinshaw won the 1,650-yard freestyle with an NCAA B time of 15:18.82. Bart Ginocchio also hit the NCAA B mark with a time of 15:21.92. Both times are career bests and rank among the IU all-time top 20 individual swims. Troxel went a season best 15:33.33 to place fifth, followed by Brenden Butler in sixth (15:48.10).

Titus Knight won the 200 free in 1:36.68, just off his season best of 1:36.27 set in December. Cody Weik was fifth (1:39.60), followed by Jim Barbiere (1:40.01). Eric Ress won the 100 backstroke with a season best of 48.82. Happ had a season best of 50.27 to win his heat and place fourth overall, while Doug Spraul was eighth in 51.10.

Tameris touched second in the 100 breaststroke with a 54.46. Tyler Lemert went a career best 54.63 to place third, as did Justin Peterfish with a time of 55.60 (sixth). Sliwinski improved upon his season time with a 55.57 to finish fifth.

Cody Weik led IU in the 200 butterfly at 1:49.08 (sixth). Tyler Shedron was seventh (1:49.26). Tony Mattar clocked a personal best of 1:50.78, while Tim Blue was 1/100th of a second off his PR at 1:52.26.

Indiana went 1-2-3 in the 100 free, led by Lenton's winning time of 44.11 Knight went a career best 44.44 to place second, followed by Zoricic in third (44.67). Cameron Owen placed sixth in 45.39. Ress won the 200 backstroke in 1:45.18, followed by Kevin Happ in sixth (1:49.79). Doug Spraul was seventh (1:50.39).

Tameris placed third in the 200 breaststroke (2:00.07), and Aaron Opell fifth (2:02.10). Ress took the 500 free with a personal best and NCAA B time of 4:22.56, while Knight was third in 4:25.32. Ginocchio took sixth in 4:28.51.

A.J. Miller won the 100 butterfly with a career best and NCAA B cut of 47.64. O'Brien was fifth in 48.56, with Bader Al-Muhana eighth (50.02). Weik closed out the individual events with a fourth-place finish in the 400 individual medley (3:57.89), followed by Opell in fifth (3:58.79).

Landon Marzullo took the one-meter springboard crown with 354.10 points. Will Bohonyi was seventh (279.10), followed by Linus Altman-Kurosaki in eighth (277.65). Marzullo placed second on the three-meter (380.75), with Altman-Kurosaki seventh (295.20) and Bohonyi eighth (290.70).

The Hoosiers are back in action next weekend as they travel to Evansville for a dual meet with the Purple Aces on Saturday, January 24 at 2 p.m. ET.

Special thanks to Indiana for contributing this report.