Indiana Swimming Sweeps Rival Purdue in In-State Battle


The Indiana swimming and diving teams dominated in-state rivals Purdue by scores of 174-120 (women’s) and 179-112 (men’s) at the Counsilman Billingsley Aquatic Center on Saturday afternoon.

Indiana University President Michael A. McRobbie and his wife, Laurie Burns McRobbie, attended the meet as art of the Bicentennial celebration.


Men: No. 5 Indiana 179, RV Purdue 112

Women: No. 15 Indiana 174, Purdue 120




Zane Backes – 100 breaststroke (53.33); 200 medley relay (1:26.76)

Bruno Blaskovic – 100 freestyle (44.04)

Mikey Calvillo – 1,000 freestyle (9:11.11)

Gabriel Fantoni – 200 backstroke (1:48.29); 200 medley relay (1:26.76)

Matt Jerden – 200 butterfly (1:49.21)

Brandon Hamblin – 200 medley relay (1:26.76)

Jakub Karl – 200 freestyle (1:38.32)

Van Mathias – 100 butterfly (48.19)

Iago Moussalem – 200 medley relay (1:26.76)

Mohamed Samy – 100 backstroke (47.56); 200 breaststroke (1:58.68)

Cole VanDevender – 1-meter diving (345.75)


Cora Dupre – 100 backstroke (54.56); 200 backstroke (1:57.82); 100 butterfly (54.97)

Laurel Eiber – 100 freestyle (51.26)

Carla Gildersleeve – 200 butterfly (2:00.91)

Grace Haskett – 200 medley relay (1:42.10)

Maria Paula Heitmann – 200 freestyle (1:50.11)

Cassy Jernberg – 500 freestyle (4:55.39); 1,000 freestyle (10:10.52)

Shelby Koontz – 200 medley relay (1:42.10)

Noelle Peplowski – 400 IM (4:18.52); 200 medley relay (1:42.10)

Zain Smith – 1-meter diving (286.05)

Ashley Turak – 200 medley relay (1:42.10)

Emily Weiss – 100 breaststroke (1:00.92); 200 breaststroke (2:12.18)

Indiana Swimming Notables

  • Prior to the meet beginning, the Indiana University swim and dive program honored the following seniors: Wyeth Brock, Hope Hayward, Maria Paula Heitmann, Cassy Jernberg, Shelby Koontz, Mohamed Samy, Hannah Leybo (trainer), Josiah Parr (swim manager), and Jim Schuman (swim manager).
  • The Hoosiers won 23 of the 32 contested events and saw seven individuals win multiple events. Freshman Cora Dupre led the charge with three event victories.
  • The Indiana men have now defeated Purdue in 10-straight dual meets, dating back to the 2009-10 season. The women’s team holds a nine-meet winning streak over the in-state rival.

Indiana Swimming NCAA cuts

B: Zane Backes (100 breast, 53.33); Gabriel Fantoni (100 back, 47.59); Noelle Peplowski (100 breast, 1:01.22); Mohamed Samy (100 back, 47.56) Emily Weiss (100 breast, 1:00.92; 200 breast, 2:12.18)

NCAA Zones Qualifying Scores

1-Meter:  Mory Gould (320.25); Zain Smith (286.05); Cole VanDevender (345.75)

Purdue’s top swims

Event victories for Ben Bramley, Nick McDowell and Emily Meaney highlighted Purdue swimming & diving’s dual meet losses at nationally ranked Indiana on Saturday.

Bramley and Meaney teamed up for a sweep of the platform events. Bramley won by 67.35 points as the only Boilermaker competing in the men’s event. He posted a winning score of 339.30. The sophomore’s victory marked the sixth straight year that the Purdue men have won on 10-meter vs. the Hoosiers.

Meaney led the way as the Boilermakers finished 1-2-3-4 in the women’s event. Her winning score of 301.65 was only two points shy of her team season best. Maggie Merriman took second with a season-best and Zone-qualifying score of 268.20. Maycey Vieta placed third and later led the way as part of Purdue’s 2-3-4-5 finish on 1-meter.

McDowell won the 500 freestyle for his seventh individual event victory of the season, tops among the Boilermaker swimmers. The senior posted a winning time of 4:29.26. He also won the 1,000 free in Bloomington two years ago.

Freshman Sylvia Kobylak posted another NCAA provisional qualifying time (B Cut) in her premier event, the 200 breaststroke. Her time of 2:12.87 was just .05 hundredths of a second off her team season best from the Purdue Invitational. She was the runner-up in Saturday’s race after being out touched by .69 hundredths of a second.

— The above press release was posted by Swimming World in conjunction with Indiana swimming and Purdue swimming. For press releases and advertising inquiries please contact