High School State Championships: Oklahoma Boys and Girls

OKLAHOMA CITY, Oklahoma, February 22. FORT Gibson, Bixby, Edmond North and Union claimed team titles during the Oklahoma High School Swimming Championships Feb. 17-18 in Oklahoma City.

Division 5A
Fort Gibson's girls team combined for a total of 276 points, edging out Stillwater's 265 for the team title. Harrah took third with 165 points; Bixby and Kingfisher tied for fourth with 144 points each.

Fort Gibson was led by Hannah Cantrell, who won the 50 yard free in 25.68 and Leslie White, who was tops in the 100 breast (1:09.78). Kyla Martin and Hunter Jaynes joined White and Cantrell for the 200 free relay victory (1:48.49), 3-hundredths ahead of Kingfisher's squad of Madison York, Ashley Winans, Savannah Storey and Grace Krepel.

Stillwater took control of the other relays. The 200 medley team of Sydney Goad, Brooke Njaa, Courtney Carman and Alex Thomas posted a 2:00.07; Kelsey Haseley and Lauren Terry came on board with Thomas and Goad for their 4:00.35 triumph in the 400 free.

Three other swimmers captured two event titles apiece: Newcastle's Jessi Hildebrand doubled in the 100 fly (58.86) and 500 free (5:09.17), Classen Sas' Chelsea Ye in the 100 (52.21) and 200 free (1:51.35), and Kasey Rein of Piedmont took the 100 back (1:02.53) and 200 IM (2:17.90) events.

Bixby dominated the boys scoring with 375 points. Harrah came in second (319), Altus was third (154) and Bishop McGuinness was fourth (141). There was a three-way tie for fifth place, with Booker T. Washington, Kingfisher and Duncan each collecting 130 points.

Bixby swept the relays, posting times of 1:42.45 in the 200 medley, 1:32.40 in the 200 free and 3:21.35 in the 400 free. Earning the relay wins were Trevor Thompson, Bryan Lee, Josh Deibert and Robbie Anderson (200 medley); Karis Reavis, Ben Deibert, Lee and Dustin Weatherford (200 free); Anderson, Thompson, Weatherford and Josh Deibert (400 free).

Harding Charter Prep's Preston Selby triumphed in both the 100 (48.27) and 200 (1:47.02) free; Mason York of Kingfisher doubled in the 200 IM (2:01.42) and 100 breast (58.79); and Khyle Hill, swimming for Miami, posted times of 21.15 in the 50 free and 52.25 in the 100 fly for his victories. Camilo Maisonnave of Kingfisher dueled Harrah's Riley Bunyard in the 500 free, emerging with a 4:56.32-4:56.47 victory. Bixby's Bryan Lee was tops in the 100 back (57.08).

Division 6A
Edmond North's team scored 347 points to claim the 6A girls trophy. Jenks took second with 262 points, followed by Union's 207, Enid's 196 and Edmond Memorial's 172.

Owasso's Erin Beu was the only double-event champion among the 6A girls with her 24.45 in the 50 free and 57.82 in the 100 fly.

Avery Niemann from Heritage Hall claimed the 200 free title in 1:53.51, just ahead of Broken Arrow's Breonna Barker (1:53.59). Barker turned the tables on Niemann in the 100 free, 52.22-53.42. In another close race, Union's Erika McGovern outswam Edmond Memorial's Annah Baykal in the 100 breast, 1:06.54-1:06.65. Also grabbing first-place swims were Montana Gaffney, Jenks (500 free, 5:10.38); Kimmie Reneau, Westmoore (100 back, 59.55) and Ally Robertson, Edmond North (200 IM, 2:06.55).

Edmond North's team of Amanda Greenlee, Jess Graro, Abbie Imes and Robertson combined for a 1:51.66 victory in the 200 medley relay; Megan Snelling and Ann-Marie Stowe joined Imes and Robertson for the 200 free win (1:40.86). Enid's squad of Rebekah Pauly, Whitney Livesay, Sara Nazari and Hunter McEachern cruised to a 3:42.31 to take the 400 free relay.

Eastman Holloway led Union to its team victory with two state record-setting swims. His 1:39.66 in the 200 free erased his 1:39.99 from last year, and his 4:30.30 in the 500 free bettered the 4:31.91 set by Westmoore's Sean Smith in 2000. Union's team scored 267 points, ahead of Bartlesville (243), Edmond North (238), Jenks (230) and Norman North (180).

Bartlesville's Trevor Rietfors powered ahead of Norman North's Tomas Elder in the 50 free, 21.23-21.30, and added the 100 breast title (57.01). Justin Wu of Norman North emerged ahead of Norman's Brad Quy in the 100 back, 51.13-51.23. Naresh Naik of Edmond Memorial topped the field in the 100 free (46.83), Colton Krause from Bartlesville topped the field in the 100 fly (50.34), as did Union's Chase Davis in the 200 IM (1:52.26).

Nashua North's quartet of Wu, Alex Zhu, Elder and Kendon McGehee claimed first in the 200 medley relay (1:38.03). Jenks' 200 free relay of Colby DeWeese, Paden Scribner, Jake Burris and Ian Meehleder touched first in 1:28.09; and Bartlesville's Krause, Kyle Thomas, Austin Bryant and Rietfors put together a winning 3:10.48 in the 400 free relay.