Gunnar Poley Leads Gillette to Wyoming 4A State Title, Lander Wins 3A Meet


Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website? Records for High School Are Pending Application Verification.? Click Here to Learn More

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website

Wyoming boys high school swimming came to a close this weekend with the state championship meets.


With 279 points to Laramie’s 179.333, Gillette repeated as Wyoming boys 4A state swimming and diving champions on Friday afternoon.

Gunnar Poley, the athlete of the year from Gillette, led his team to two relay wins and was an individual event double winner. Poley teamed up with Trevor MortonLandon Hoffman, and Ty Conklin for a 1:37.31 in the 200 medley relay. Poley, Austin Bonar, Morton, and Conklin then swam a 1:27.65 for 200 freestyle relay gold.

Poley won the splash and dash by over a half second with his 21.15. CSO’s Kevin Muela was runner up, also under 22 seconds with a 21.73. Poley clocked a 52.25 in the 100 backstroke, a half second faster than Laramie freshman Max DeYoung (52.74).

DeYoung, Matt MittlestaedtNoah Richardson, and Logan Pickard took home the 400 freestyle relay crown in 3:14.04.

RSP freshman Darwin Anderson was dominant in the 200 freestyle, stopping the clock in 1:44.55. Four boys were under two minutes in the 200 IM. GRV’s Michael Richmond was first in 1:57.60. Jackson Mugg of EAS and Oscar Patten of SHE swam times of 1:59.04 and 1:59.18 for second and third. Richmond also won the 100 butterfly with a 51.90.

Anderson (4:42.07) and Mugg (4:50.48) were the only sub-five minute swimmers in the 500 freestyle.

Three swimmers broke a minute in the 100 breaststroke. Muela led the way in 59.79. Ethan Moffatt of GRV was second in 59.11 and Morton finished third (59.96).

Gillette’s Tyler Williams won the diving with 455.80 points.


Lander won the team’s 21st team championship with a score of 331 points, 200 more than runner ups Lyman.

Lander won the 200 medley relay in 1:39.20 with the team of Caleb HuelskampNick KulowRyan Brinda, and Treyton Martinsen.

Martinsen, Nick KulowGavin Roy, and Colin Kinney later combined to win the 200 freestyle relay in 1:30.88 for Lander. Brinda, Lucas Hulme, Kinney, and Huelskamp teamed up for a dominating 3:24.14 to capture the 400 freestyle relay title.

Huelskamp won the 200 freestyle with a 1:49.03. His freshman teammate Kulow captured the 200 IM in 2:03.92. Martinsen then won the 50 freestyle with a 22.45. He had Lyman’s Cooper Haycock (22.61) and Konner Legault (23.01) on his tail. Haycock won the 100 backstroke in 54.72.

Huleskamp added to his relay victories with a 5:02.59 second 500.

Douglass’ Trenton Weiss and Worland’s Caleb Truman were named athletes of the meet. Truman won the one meter diving title in 436.55 points.

Weiss captured the 100 butterfly in 54.64. Kacey Creed of Powell finished second in 55.14. Weiss also won the 100 breaststroke in 1:00.63.

Brinda led a trio of Lander swimmers onto the 100 freestyle podium with his 49.71. Martinsen (50.07) and Roy (51.20) were second and third.