Great Lakes Valley Conference Day 4 Recap: Drury, Indianapolis Win

The final night of the Great Lakes Valley Conference featured five events, including the 1650 free, 100 free, 200 back, 200 breast, and 400 free relay and Drury women and Indianapolis men claimed the team championships.

Following tonight’s swims, Drury University topped the conference for women with 1012 points. Second went to University of Indianapolis with 784.5 points, followed by Truman State for third (456). Fourth went to McKendree University (439.5), followed by Bellarmine (373), Lewis University (250), and William Jewell (219). Ninth place went to Maryville University, with 108 points.

University of Indianapolis took first place for men, with 801 points. Second goes to Missouri S&T with 768.5 points, followed by McKendree University for third (627). Fourth goes to Drury University (579), followed by University St. Louis  (261.5), Truman State (231), Lewis University (198), Bellarmine (197), and William Jewell (145). Tenth place goes to Maryville, with 101 points.

Check out previous coverage:

Women’s 1650 free

Drury’s Allison Weber took home her second gold with a time of 16:47.27. Bellarmine’s Rachel Walker touched for second with a time of 16:55.07. Third place went to Drury’s Erica Dahlgren with a time of 17:07.45.

Indy’s Melanie Arnold comes in fourth with a time of 17:10.17, followed by Shannon Dague (17:15.69), Hallie Dixon (17:23.38), and Megan Mensinger (17:24.62). Eighth place went to Indy’s Katelynn Thomas with a time of 17:25.09.

Men’s 1650 free

Missouri S&T’s Tim Samuelsen took home gold with a time of 15:21.53. Second place went to Aaron Taske, with a time of 15:31.17. Third place finisher was Throstur Bjarnason with a time of 15:32.30.

Indy’a Adam Rosipal took fourth with a time of 15:32.37, followed by team mate Cody Liske (15:34.13), Alexander Graham (15:43.38), Patryk Golinski (15:47.01), and Sergio Santisteban Romero (15:53.95).

Women’s 100 free

A trio of Drury women led the event, first by freshman Tori Sopp with a time of 50.63. Yasmin Preusse followed her team mate with a time of 50.67 for a close second, followed by Abby Lunzmann with a time of 51.22.

Fourth place went to Kirsten Votava with a time of 51.33, followed by Haley Rey (51.44), Caytee Wright (51.76), Chrysoula Karamanou (51.78), and Krystal Caylor (52.31).

Men’s 100 free

McKendree snagged gold and silver, led by Xander Skinner who finished in 43.15. His team mate, Matija Pucarevic, finished closely behind with a time of 43.89. Third place went to Missouri S&T’s Morgan Meyer, with a time of 44.24.

Team mate Christopher Betts touched in 44.63 for fourth place, followed by Victor Antonon Rodriguez (44.65), with Gregg Lichinsky closely behind (44.66), Guillaume Bolivard (44.92), and Kevin McPherson (45.24).

Women’s 200 back

Indy’s Edda Skoric tacked on her first victory with a time of 1:55.80. McKendree’s Sydney Rey took second with a time of 1:59.98, followed by Lewis’ Stephanie Palczynski with a time of 2:00.76.

McKendree’s Meredith Geyer took fourth with a time of 2:01.64, followed by Danielle Wood (2:02.83), Laura Pareja (2:03.35), and Iris Hilmarsdottir (2:03.64). Eighth place went to Truman State’s Lauren Massot (2:04.19).

Men’s 200 back

Indy’s Rodrigo Codo Berti took home his second individual gold with a time of 1:45.76, followed by Daniel Buijs for a second place finish of 1:45.85. Drury’s Andrew Rodriguez took third with an even time of 1:46.00.

Fourth place went to Jared Dachroeden with a time of 1:47.65, followed by Radoslaw Chupka (1:48.72), Jake Braumbaugh (1:50.21), Ethan Shih (1:50.55), and Dylan Friesz (1:54.70).

Women’s 200 breast

Bailee Nunn added her fourth individual gold with a time of 2:09.85. Second place went to Truman State’s Natalie Galluzzo with a time of 2:17.67. Third place went to Galluzzo’s team mate Ginny Schrank with a time of 2:19.42.

Fourth place went to Bellarmine’s Sophia Noren with a time of 2:19.71, followed by Amber Visser (2:19.82), Natalie Hughlett (2:22.33), Alaina Joyce (2:23.56), and Annika Hofer (2:24.74).

Men’s 200 breast

Missouri S&T’s Andy Huffman took home first with a time of 1:58.33. Drury’s Young Tae Seo out-touched the third place finisher with a time 1:59.22. Bronze went to Indy’s Antonio Milin with a time of 1:59.29.

A duo of Drury freshman took fourth and fifth, lead by Caleb Carlson (1:59.34) followed by Tame Govaerts-Paul (2:00.56). Sixth place went to Jan Zuchowicz with a time of 2:02.63, followed by TJ Leseure (2:03.18), and Alex Chavez (2:04.20).

Women’s 400 free relay

The final event of the meet drove Drury home with another victory, finishing in a time of 3:23.90. Second place went to Indy with a time of 3:24.91. McKendree took third with a time of 3:28.27.

Fourth place went to Bellarmine with a time of 3:31.98, followed by Lewis (3:32.98). Truman State won an out-touch for sixth with a time of 3:33.16. Missouri St. Louis took seventh with a time of 3:33.17. William Jewel took the final finish for women with a time of 3:33.61.

Men’s 400 free relay

McKendree took the last gold of the evening with a time of 2:54.72. Drury followed for second with a time of 2:58.72, followed by Missouri S&T for third (2:59.33).

Fourth place went to Indy with a time of 3:00.16, followed by Lewis (3:00.52), Truman State (3:03.74), and Missouri St. Louis (3:03.89). William Jewell finished the night off with a time of 3:04.15 for eighth place.

Tonight’s session concludes the 2019 Great Lakes Valley Conference in Crawfordsville.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x