Grace Monahan, Alana Barthel Break State Records as Punahou Sweeps Hawaii State Championships

2020 hawaii state championships
Photo Courtesy: NFHS Twitter (@NFHS_Org)

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website? Records for High School Are Pending Application Verification.? Click Here to Learn More

The 2020 Hawaii Swimming and Diving Championships were held at K. Mark Takai Veterans Memorial Aquatic Center in Maipahu, ‘Oahu on Saturday, Feb. 15.

A pair of Hawaii state records highlighted the meet. University Laboratory School’s sophomore Grace Monahan set a new state record in the 200 IM with a time of 2:01.58 while Le Jardin Academy’s Alana Barthel broke the 100 back mark twice in a day, ultimately posting a time of 55.24 during finals.

Punahou High School swept the team titles for the sixth year in a row. The boys earned their seventh-straight crown while the girls won for the sixth-consecutive year.

Click HERE for full results.


Top 5 Team Scores:

1. Punahou – 60
2. King Kekaulike – 30
3. KS Kapalama – 28
4. Kalani – 20
5. Kaiser – 13

Punahou began their winning ways as Elena Tanaka (26.40), Joey Misailidis (30.27), Tori Gacutan (25.79), and Andrea Zeebe (23.58) combined to win the opening 4×50 medley relay in 1:46.04, over four seconds ahead of the rest of the field. King Kekaulike’s Afton Page (25.79), Li’a Vanderpoel (24.95), Cecilia Buckingham (25.12), and Eyre (23.32) combined to win the 4×50 free relat in 1:39.18, just ahead of runner-up KS Kapalama’s 1:39.70.

KS Kapalam’s Shaye Story cruised to first in the 200 free, stopping the clock in 1:53.54 ahead of defending champion’s Jordynn Brown (1:54.77) of Maui. After placing second last year in the 500 free, Story earned the gold medal in the event this season with a time of 5:01.87.

Monahan won the 200 IM for the second-straight year, taking the title in a quick 2:01.58. Her time broke the Hawaii state record of 2:01.78 set by Jasmine Mau in 2013. She also successfully defended her state title in the 100 fly after getting her hands to the wall first in 54.49.

King Kekaulike’s Aniston Eyre splashed-and-dashed her way to the gold medal in the 50 free, clocking in at 23.72 ahead of La Pietra’s Rose Garcia (23.95). Eyre proved her sprint talent by also claiming a victory in the 100 free after sprinting her way to first place in 51.56, again ahead of Garcia (52.29).

Barthel won the 100 back with a time of 55.24 for the second year in a row, lowering her own Hawaii state record of 55.53 she set during prelims. Leilehua’s Kaya Takashige powered home to a win in the 100 breast, touching the wall in 1:02.72 to win by well over two seconds.

Punahou’s Emma Ng Pack dove to first on the 1-meter board for the second-straight year after posting a final score of 437.80. Josie Mobley 54.36), Mallory Meister (53.50), Zeebe(52.59), and Kai Flanagan (54.00) clinched Punahou’s overall team title by winning the 4×100 free relay in 3:34.45, four seconds ahead of the field.


Top 5 Team Scores:

1. Punahou – 58
2. KS Kapalama – 32
3. Hawaii Prep – 30.5
4. Iolani – 28
5. Mililani – 24

Just like the girls, Punahou began their quest for the team title as Noah Peters (24.33), Ken Nakatsu (28.53), James Lyon (23.08), and Jordan Savage (21.11) opened the boys’ meet by winning the 4×50 medley relay in 1:37.05, just ahead of Iolani’s 1:37.59. Iolani’s Culley Jones dove to first on the 1-meter board with a final score of 395.00.

Radford senior Jake Palmieri cruised to first in the 200 free, stopping the clock in 1:39.35 as the only swimmer in the field under the 1:40-barrier. Le Jardin Academy’s Thomas Cap led the charge in the 100 breast, getting to the wall in 55.59 as the first of three swimmers to sneak under the minute barrier.

Iolani’s Jon Reiter earned gold in the 200 IM, finishing with a final time of 1:53.16 to better his prelims time by two seconds. KS Kapalama’s Noa Copp sprinted to the wall in 21.00 for the gold medal in the 50 free. He demonstrated his sprint talent by also claiming the top spot in the 100 free, posting a quick time of 45.98 during finals for the win.

Mililani’s Aaron Saito flew to the top of the podium in the 100 fly, getting his hands to the wall the quickest in 49.97 as the only raced under the 50-second barrier. His second gold medal of the day came in the 100 back when he powered home in a final time of 52.00.

KS Kapalama’s Nash Brandon (22.34), Devin Alejado (21.54), Copp (20.91), and Dane Kaulykou-Chang (22.94) combined to win the 4×50 free relay in 1:27.73. Micah Ginoza of Kaiser dominated the 500 free, winning by nearly five seconds in a final time of 4:34.23.

Lyons (47.58), Cameron Coffelt (48.44), Peters (46.19), and Tyler Sakamoto (48.34) sealed Punahou’s team title by finishing the meet as 4×100 free relay champions with a time of 3:10.55, six seconds ahead of the field.