Gard Kvale Wins Seven National Titles at Norwegian National Championships; Five National Records Fall

NAMSOS, Norway, July 16. OVER the weekend, Gard Kvale pulled off a Phelpsian performance with seven national titles at the Norwegian National Championships held in Namsos, Norway from July 12-15.

Kvale got his hand to the wall first in a variety of events. He took four of the freestyle events, 100 (52.03), 200 (1:53.15), 800 (8:26.48) and 1500 (15:59.46), while also sweeping the IMs, 200 (2:05.54) and 400 (4:29.16). He then added the 200 fly (2:06.54) in for good measure to wind up with an incredible seven crowns.

In other action, five national records fell throughout the meet. World Short Course Championship bronze medalist Alexander Dale Oen set the nation's men's 200 breaststroke standard with a time off 2:11.98, while also sweeping the breaststroke events with wins in the 50 (28.36) and 100 (1:00.76).

In women's action, Ingvild Snildal set the women's 100 back national standard at 1:03.43, while also winning three other events including a backstroke sweep. She touched first in the 50 back (29.36), 200 back (2:20.19) and 100 fly (1:00.60).

Additionally, Henriette Brekke broke the women's 50 freestyle record with a readout of 25.94, while also setting a national junior record in her 100 free win (56.57).

Anne-Mari Gulbrandsen dominated the women's breaststroke events with wins in the 100 (1:09.72) and 200 (2:30.19) as well as a national record in the 50 (32.15), while Katharina Stiberg set the national standard in the 50 fly (27.13).

Other big winners from the weekend included a men's backstroke sweep by Kim Torry Simmenes (50 (26.74), 100 (1:00.30) and 200 (2:08.93)) as well as a triple by Alexander Hetland. Hetland claimed the 50 free (23.86), 50 fly (23.90) and 100 fly (56.10) at the meet.

On the women's side, Sara Nordenstam swept the IM events with wins in the 200 (2:19.26) and 400 (4:49.43) as well as Elin Slaatmo in the 800 free (8:59.80) and 1500 free (17:08.61) for the only other multiple titlists of the meet.

Individual winners included Petter Fagelund in the men's 400 free (4:07.03) as well as women's wins from Victoria Loken in the 200 free (2:04.52), Cecile Johannessen in the 400 free (4:28.32) and Karoline Brudvik-Sanderud in the 200 fly (2:16.38).