Florida Claims Sweep of Georgia; Luca Urlando Paces Dawgs With Several No. 1 Marks

Talia Bates; Photo Courtesy: NCAA Media

Florida Claims Sweep of Georgia; Luca Urlando Paces Dawgs With Several No. 1 Marks

Talia Bates won the women’s 100 backstroke, 50 freestyle and 100 freestyle as Florida eked out a 153-147 win over Georgia on Friday afternoon. That competed a Gators sweep, with the men claiming a 180-120 win.

Bates clocked in at an NCAA B cut of 22.63 to win the 50 free. She also tallied a B cut in 48.82 in the 200 free. Her spring wins came on either side of Elizabeth Perez’s win in the one-meter diving, to augment her earlier three-meter win and help the Gators rip off a streak of wins. Mabel Zavaros followed by winning the 200 back. Elise Bauer won the 1,000 free for Florida.

Georgia split the women’s events down the middle. Zoie Hartman led the way with wins in the 100 breast, 200 breast and 200 IM. Dakota Luther prevailed in the 100 fly and 200 fly. Abigail McCulloh was first in the 500 free, and Dune Coetzee took top honors in the 200 free. Hartman and Luther were also on the winning medley relay squad.

The Florida men left no doubt, led by their breaststroke depth. Dillon Hillis won both the 100 and 200 breast in 1-2-3 sweeps, with Raphael Rached Windmuller in second both times. Hillis also swam a leg on the winning 200 medley relay that was led off by Adam Chaney, the winner of the 100 back.

Chaney and Eric Friese were on both winning relays. They were joined on the victorious 400 free squad by Will Davis, who won the 50 free. Gerry Quinn claimed the 100 free, and Trey Freeman won the 200 free. Leonardo Garcia swept the men’s diving events.

Georgia’s stroke depth wasn’t quite enough. Luca Urlando did his bit, winning the 100 fly, 200 fly and 200 IM. He posted the top time in the NCAA this season in all three events: 45.61 in the 100 fly, 1:42.09 in the 200 fly and 1:45.12 in the 200 IM.

Jake Magahey was tops in the 500 and 1,000 free in nation-leading 4:16.95 and 8:55.24, respectively. Ian Grum won the 200 back.