FINA Diving World Series Comes to Close in Mexico

LAUSANNE, Switzerland, April 25. THE team of China got six out of the eight titles on offer in the fourth and final leg of the FINA/Midea Diving World Series 2011, held in Guanajuato (MEX), on April 22-23. The only non-Chinese victories went to the local divers, with Yahel Castillo/Daniel Islas winning the men's 3m springboard and Ivan Garcia/German Sanchez triumphing in the men's 10m platform synchro.

Among the Chinese "armada", Zi He was the best in the women's 3m springboard, while Hu Yadan was the most consistent diver in the women's 10m platform. In the men's field, and in the individual events, He Chong finished first in the 3m springboard and Bo Qiu obtained his fourth consecutive win in the 10m platform.

After the four legs of the FINA/Midea Diving World Series, held in Moscow (RUS), Beijing (CHN), Sheffield (GBR) and Guanajuato (MEX), the team of China triumphed in five of the eight events in the overall ranking. The list of the 2011 overall winners is as follows:

3m springboard: Kai Qin (CHN), 70 points
10m platform: Bo Qiu (CHN), 72 pts
3m springboard synchro: Yahel Castillo/Daniel Islas (MEX), 84 pts
10m platform synchro: Sascha Klein/Patrick Hausding (GER), 87 pts

3m springboard: Zi He (CHN), 70 points
10m platform: Paola Espinosa (MEX), 46 pts
3m springboard synchro: Zi He/Wu Minxia (CHN), 108 pts
10m platform synchro: Ruolin Chen/Hao Wang (CHN), 108 pts

Men's 3m springboard: 1. Chong He (CHN) 519.20; 2. Kai Qin (CHN) 518.75; 3. Yahel Castillo (MEX) 507.05
Men's 10m platform: 1. Bo Qiu (CHN) 582.45; 2. Thomas Daley (GBR) 562.80; 3. Rommel Pacheco (MEX) 540.90
Men's 3m springboard synchro: 1. Yahel Castillo/Daniel Islas (MEX) 437.07; 2. Troy Dumais/Kristian Ipsen (USA) 431.28; 3. Oleksiy Prygorov/Illya Kvasha (UKR) 410.58
Men's 10m platform synchro: 1. Ivan Garcia/German Sanchez (MEX) 446.73; 2. David Boudia/Thomas Finchum (USA) 437.10; 3. Jose Guerra Oliva/Jeinkler Aguirre (CUB) 433.71

Women's 3m springboard: 1. Zi He (CHN) 385.05; 2. Jennifer Abel (CAN) 353.55; 3. Kassidy Cook (USA) 336.60
Women's 10m platform: 1. Yadan Hu (CHN) 399.75; 2. Hao Wang (CHN) 392.80; 3. Melissa Wu (AUS) 392.25
Women's 3m springboard synchro: 1. Zi He/Minxia Wu (CHN) 332.70; 2. Jennifer Abel/Emilie Heymans (CAN) 306.30; 3. Anastasia Pozdniakova/Svetlana Filippova (RUS) 293.94
Women's 10m platform synchro: 1. Ruolin Chen/Hao Wang (CHN) 353.70; 2. Meaghan Benfeito/Roseline Filion (CAN) 327.45; 3. Alexandra Croak/Melissa Wu (AUS) 323.22

The above article is a press release submitted to Swimming World Magazine. It has been posted in its entirety without editing. Swimming World offers all outlets the chance to reach our audience by contacting us at However, Swimming World reserves the right to choose what material is posted.