Eugene Godsoe Wins Second Fly Event; Justin Lynch Takes Down Phelps NAG

Coverage proudly sponsored by ArenaUSA. For full coverage, including interviews, previews and all the links you need to follow along, check out our event coverage page.

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana, June 27. A day after making his first major international squad with a 50 fly victory, Stanford volunteer assistant coach Eugene Godsoe earned his second national title with a surprise victory in the men's 100-meter fly at the U.S. Nationals and World Championship Trials.

Godsoe blitzed the field with a scorching time of 51.66 to move to fourth in the world rankings. That's Godsoe's first time under 52 seconds, trumping his lifetime best of 52.13 from this morning. Godsoe has been a revelation here at the IU Natatorium.

Olympic superstar Ryan Lochte collected second in just his second time at a national-level meet competing in the event. He posted a time of 51.71 after taking third at Trials last summer prior to the 2012 London Olympics. He's much happier with the 100 fly on his docket in lieu of the difficult 400 IM. His time tonight stands sixth in the world this year.

SwimMAC's Tim Phillips also broke 52 seconds with a swift time of 51.86 to move into the top 10 in the world, but not onto the Barcelona-bound Worlds roster.

NYAC's Tyler McGill (52.16), California's Tom Shields (52.32), SwimMAC's Matt Josa (52.91), Tucson Ford's Giles Smith (52.94) and Machine's Jack Conger (53.07) rounded out the rest of the championship heat.

The 100 fly is another of the huge event voids left by the Michael Phelps retirement. That's what happens when a person capable of winning eight gold medals in a single Olympics retires from the sport. It really turns into all-hands-on-deck to replace the Greatest of All Time on Team USA.

Terrapins' Justin Lynch, 16, took down the 15-16 U.S. National Age Group record previously held by Phelps as Lynch clocked asterling 52.75 to win the B final. That performance lowered the mark of 52.98 set by Phelps back in 2001.

Duneland's Aaron Whitaker snatched the C final title with a time of 54.17, just missing his lifetime best of 54.08 from the 2012 Junior National Championships.

Comments Off on Eugene Godsoe Wins Second Fly Event; Justin Lynch Takes Down Phelps NAG

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here