Derryfield, St. Thomas Aquinas Tie Highlights New Hampshire High School State Championships


Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website? Records for High School Are Pending Application Verification.? Click Here to Learn More

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website

New Hampshire high school swimming wrapped up this weekend with some tight team races. The division two women’s meet ended with the crowning of co-champions.

Division 1

The Bedford women left the meet as state champions while the Exeter men snuck out a win over Bishop Guertin and Bedford.

Exeter opened the meet with a win in the women’s 200 medley relay. The team of Chloe CoutureShauna RubinHannah Lord, and Hadleigh Weber stopped the clock in 1:56.67. Bedford’s men’s team of Colin AllenAndrew AllenTrent Levasseur, and Alexander Tije won the men’s event in 1:37.28. That same squad touched in 1:27.76 to win the 200 free relay.

Bedford’s Abigail Carroll was the only woman under two minutes in the 200 freestyle, stopping the clock in 1:58.67. Carroll was then second in the 500 freestyle in 5:15.06 behind Lord in 5:04.57. Lord also won the 200 IM in a dominating 2:08.09.

Bedford junior Lavasseur was dominant in the men’s 200 freestyle with a 1:43.60. In the 100 butterfly he won gold with a 50.84. His senior teammate Andrew Allen won the 200 IM in 1:53.38.

Bedford’s Emma Schulman took the sprint double, posting a 53.81 in the 100 free and a 24.78 in the 50. Timberlane’s Taylor Hogan was the only girl under a minute in the 100 butterfly, stopping the clock in a swift 56.89. She was also the only one cracking the barrier in the 100 backstroke with a 57.78.

Bishop Guertin’s Michael Suksta posted a 22.50 to win the 50 freestyle, just ahead of teammate John Puksta in 22.67. Their teammate Mark Zoda won the 100 free in 47.15.

Merrimack’s Lauren Brennan clocked a 1:09.71 to claim the 100 breaststroke title. Dover’s Nathan Kurr clocked a 4:52.34 to win the 500 freestyle. Exeter’s Jack Carignan was the state champion in the 100 back with a 52.33. Andrew Allen touched in 58.15 to win the 100 breaststroke. Bishop Guertin’s Mark Zoda also cleared a minute (59.48).

Alvirne’s Skyler Bomba won the girls 1 meter diving with a score of 270.20. Exeter’s Adrian DelliColli scored 243.0 points for the boys title.

The 400 freestyle relay title went to Bedford’s Carroll, Mackenzie KearnsTaylor Lee, and Schulman with a 3:45.30. Dover’s Alirose BeauregardKathryn EdwardsHannah White, and Colleen Mahoney claimed the 200 freestyle relay crown in 1:46.30.

In a 3:15.12 Matthew LashuaMatthew RantalaMichael Shusta and Zoda won the 400 freestyle relay for Bishop Guertin.

The Bedford girls scored 238 points while Dover amassed 191 and Exeter has 181. The Exeter boys totaled 250 points. Bishop Guertin had 246 and Bedford scored 242 points.

Division 2

In a historic finish Derryfield and St. Thomas Aquinas tied for the girls’ win with 172 points apiece. Oyster River won for the men with 296.5 points, 30 more than Hanover with 266.5.

The Derryfield girls opened the meet with a dominating 1:49.62 in the 200 medley relay with the team of Lindsay WagnerKyra ChenNatalie Young, and Emma Wagner. That foursome also won the 400 freestyle relay with a 3:33.96.

Emma Wagner won an individual event with a 1:55.45 200 freestyle. Wagner was then runner up in the 500 freestyle (5:10.11). She out touched St. Thomas Aquinas’ Eleanor Sullivan (5:10.22). Winnacunnet’s Anne Rademacher won the event in 5:06.75.

Oyster River’s Andrew HodgeMyles CarricoSamuel Lippmann, and Alex Szymanski touched in 1:41.88 to win the boy’s 200 medley relay. Their girls squad of Eleanor ZwartLily WongSydney Aubin and Audrey Duvall topped the 200 freestyle relay (1:40.81).

Hanover went one-two in the boys’ 200 and 500 freestyles. Kristian Hansen (1:43.10, 4:33.61) and Erik Hansen (1:49.91, 4:50.30) topped both podiums.

Duvall picked up the 200 IM title for Oyster River with her 2:08.88. She also won the 100 breaststroke in 1:07.11. Bella Geskos of Souhegan was on her heels in 1:07.93.

Hanover freshman Jack Wadsworth won the boys’ 100 backstroke in 53.24 while Lindsay Wagner won the girls’ in 55.44, the only swimmer under a minute. St. Thomas Aquinas freshman Maxwell Reich was the only swimmer under a minute in the 100 breaststroke with his 57.96.

Brendan Sullivan won the 50 (21.47) and 100 freestyle (47.03) for St. Thomas Aquinas. Lebanon’s Scott Shepherd topped the 100 butterfly (57.20).

Derryfield’s Chen edged fellow freshman, Hanover’s Grace Wenger for the 100 freestyle, 54.37 to 54.76.

Hanover won both diving titles with Amelia Wallis (263.15) and Kai Renshaw (358.66). Trinity senior Noelle Theodoulou out touched Lebanon senior Catherin Gavell 58.63 to 58.69 for the 100 fly gold.

Wadsworth, Hansen, Hansen and Atticus Kangas won the girls 400 freestyle relay in 3:20.96. Hanover claimed the 200 freestyle relay with Kangas, Christopher RiesbergEthan Adner, and Kristian Hansen (1:34.85).


Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x