Denver Sweeps Summit League Titles

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana, February 23. THE Denver men and women captured the 2014 Summit League Swimming & Diving Championships on Saturday, at the IU Natatorium in Indianapolis.

The Pioneers won 10 events (six men, four women) on the final day of the championships to earn the titles in their first year in the league. The men recorded a total of 1,018.5 points while the women tallied 1,017.5 points over the four days.

A total of five league records were broken Saturday. Denver’s Dylan Bunch won the 1,650 freestyle in 14:59.58 while his teammate Tanner Krall won the 200 breaststroke in a league record time of 1:59.06.

Denver’s Sam Corea won the women’s 200 backstroke in record time (1:52.81) and teammate Drew Matthews also touched the wall in a league record 49.73 in the 100 freestyle race. Corea and Matthews also each recorded NCAA ‘B’ cut times.

The Pioneers’ 400 freestyle relay team (Corea, Johanna Roas, Morgan Mullenix and Matthews) registered a league championship record finishing the race in 3:21.04.

Omaha’s Morgan Stepp earned the first-ever event win at the league championships for the Mavericks. Stepp captured the women’s 200 butterfly with a time of 2:04.06.

Meanwhile, South Dakota State’s Emily Campbell earned an NCAA ‘B’ cut and league record time of 2:14.51 in the 200 breaststroke.

News & Notes

Denver’s Dylan Bunch captured the men’s 1,650 free title in a league-record time of 14:59.58.
DU’s Sam Corea clocked a league record and NCAA ‘B’ cut time of 1:52.81 to win the 200 back, just 0.10 seconds shy of an NCAA ‘A’ cut time.

Denver’s Drew Matthews won the women’s 100 free in a league-record and NCAA ‘B’ cut time of 49.73.

South Dakota State’s Emily Campbell earned an NCAA ‘B’ cut time of 2:14.51 in the 200 breast, while Tanner Krall of DU won the men’s race in a league record 1:59.06.

Omaha’s Morgan Stepp won the women’s 200 fly in 2:04.06 for the Mavericks’ first-ever event win at the league championships.

South Dakota’s Greysen Hertting won the women’s three-meter dive with a score of 270.85, sweeping the women’s diving events

Denver’s 400 free relay team (Sam Corea, Johanna Roas, Morgan Mullenix, Drew Matthews) captured a league record time of 3:21.04.

Team Standings

1. Denver – 1,018.5
2. IUPUI – 565
3. South Dakota State – 533.5
4. Western Illinois – 425
5. South Dakota – 392
6. Eastern Illinois – 277

1. Denver – 1,017.5
2. South Dakota State – 595
3. IUPUI – 517
4. South Dakota – 446
5. Omaha – 385.5
6. Eastern Illinois – 226
7. Western Illinois – 135



Swimming Championship MVP
Kyle Milberg, Denver

Diving Championship MVP
Cody Watts, IUPUI

Newcomer of the Championship
Scott Bergstrom, Denver

Coach of the Year
Brian Schrader, Denver


Swimming Championship MVP
Sam Corea, Denver

Diving Championship MVP
Greysen Hertting, South Dakota

Newcomers of the Championship
Clara Jenck, Denver & Emily Campbell, South Dakota State

Coach of the Year
Brian Schrader, Denver

The above article is a press release submitted to Swimming World. To reach our audience, contact us at

Results For: Summit League: Day Four

Comments Off on Denver Sweeps Summit League Titles

Author: Jason Marsteller

Jason Marsteller is the general manager of digital properties at Swimming World. He joined Swimming World in June 2006 as the managing editor after previous stints as a media relations professional at Indiana University, the University of Tennessee, Southern Utah University and the Utah Summer Games.

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here