Danish Short Course Championships: Lotte Friis Posts Quick 800 Free

BRONSHOJ, Denmark, December 2. THE first night of swimming at the Danish Short Course Championships featured a world-class effort by Lotte Friis, as well as several other top 25 times going up on the scoreboard.

Friis threw down the fourth-ranked time in the world in the women's 800 free with a strong 8:16.74. Only Katie Goldman (8:12.65), Blair Evans (8:14.86) and Federica Pellegrini (8:15.20) have been faster this year. Amalie Emma Thornsen picked up second in 8:44.07, while Matilde Riis Sorensen wound up third in 8:45.52.

Jeanette Ottesen claimed the women's 100 IM title in 1:00.81 to move to 21st in the world rankings. Rikke Moeller Pedersen finished second in 1:01.60, while Katrine Holm Sorensen earned third in 1:01.99. Ottesen doubled up in the women's 50 free with a 24.56. That performance jumped her to 11th in the world rankings. Pernille Blume finished second in 25.39, while Mie Nielsen earned third in 25.73.

Moeller Pedersen earned her second podium of the night with a 2:20.93 to win the women's 200 breast. She came up short of her second-ranked season best of 2:20.39 from the Stockholm stop of the World Cup. She only trails Leisel Jones (2:18.86) in the event this year. Julie Leth-Espensen finished a distant second in 2:29.44, while Frederikke Hall earned third in 2:30.36.

Mads Glaesner topped the men's 400 free in 3:43.71 to improve to 11th in the world rankings, just missing Alexander Selin's 10th-ranked time of 3:43.70. Anders Lie stopped the clock in 3:45.94 for second and a spot in the top 25, while Viktor Bromer finished thir din 3:50.78.

Pernille Larsen won the women's 100 back in 58.65 to grab 19th in the world rankings. Kristina Thomsen finished second in 59.81, while Pernille Juel snared third in 1:02.11.

Daniel Skaaning set a Danish junior national record with a 54.39 to win the men's 100 IM. That swim moved him up to 25th in the world rankings. Morten Klarskov placed second in 55.23, while Kristian Outinen touched third in 55.66.

Andreas Schiellerup won the men's 100 back in 53.89, also setting a Danish junior national record with the effort. Anders Jensen finished second in 54.24, while Marcus Bak placed third in 55.46. Jakob Andkjaer captured the men's 50 free in 21.99, while Nikolai Kirketerp-Moeller earned second in 22.54. Emil Skovfoged Gregersen rounded out the top three in 23.35.

Chris Christensen claimed the men's 200 breast crown in 2:11.06. Emil Klingberg (2:13.36) and Simon Panduro (2:14.81) placed second and third overall.