CSCAA Reveals 38-Member Inaugural Class of Division III Hall of Fame

Andrew Wilson; Photo Courtesy: Becca Wyant

CSCAA Reveals 38-Member Inaugural Class of Division III Hall of Fame

The College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association revealed the first 38 members of the Division III Hall of Fame last week.

The inaugural class includes 16 coaches, 11 male athletes and 11 female athletes, both swimmers and divers. It includes a pair of Olympians, including Emory’s Andrew Wilson, and Robert Hauck, a rare winner of CSCAA’s Swimmer of the Year and Coach of the Year. Hauck is being enshrined with his late father, David Hauck. The athletes include 20 swimmers and two divers – Elizabeth Olsen and Jeff Gorton.

The full list of inaugural Division III Hall of Fame inductees is here.

Kenyon College leads all institutions with 10 honorees – two coaches, four female athletes and four male athletes. Williams College has four female athletes inducted and five total honorees. Johns Hopkins, Amherst and UC San Diego have three inductees each.

The first class will be formally enshrined on May 6, at the CSCAA Annual Awards Celebration at the Hyatt Regency in Indianapolis. All 38 individuals were among CSCAA’s lists, published in 2021, of the 100 Greatest College Coaches, 100 Greatest Men’s College Swimmers and Divers and 100 Greatest Women’s College Swimmers and Divers.

“This Hall of Fame stands as a tribute to the remarkable careers and accomplishments of swimmers, divers, and coaches who have played pivotal roles in shaping the landscape of collegiate swimming and diving at the Division III level,” CSCAA Executive Director Samantha Barany said in a press release. “The inductees will be celebrated not only for their exceptional athletic careers but also for their enduring impact on our sport, their teams, and their institutions. I would like to personally thank the Division III Hall of Fame Committee of Keith Beckett, Nancy Bigelow, Bob Pearson, John Patnott, Mike Sutton, Teresa Fish , Brad Shively and Jon Leaderhouse, for their dedicated work to ensure the successful launch of this important program!”

Full bios can be found here for the coaches, the female swimmers and the male swimmers.

The honorees are:


  • Susan Bassett, Union College (NY)
  • Douglas Boyd, UC San Diego
  • Charles Butt, Bowdoin College
  • Penny Dean, Pomona-Pitzer College
  • Fletcher Gilders, Kenyon College
  • David Hauck, St. Olaf College
  • George Kennedy, Johns Hopkins University
  • Don Megerle, Tufts University
  • Paula Miller, Ithaca College
  • Bill Morgan, UC San Diego
  • Nick Nichols, Amherst College
  • John Patnott, Hope College
  • Carl Samuelson, Williams College
  • James Steen, Kenyon College
  • Michael Sutton, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
  • Tim Welsh, Johns Hopkins University

Female Athletes

  • Patty Abt, Kenyon College
  • Carla Ainsworth, Kenyon College
  • Amy Heasley, Kenyon College
  • Elizabeth Jex, Williams College
  • Elizabeth Olsen, Colorado College
  • Lindsay Payne, Williams College
  • Kathryn Petrock, Kenyon College
  • Brittany Sasser, Amherst College
  • Kendra Stern, Amherst College
  • Logan Todhunter, Williams College
  • Caroline Wilson, Williams College

Male Athletes

  • James Born, Kenyon College
  • Joshua Boss, Hope College
  • Marc Courtney-Brooks, Kenyon College
  • Andres Duda, Kenyon College
  • Jeff Gorton, Kalamazoo College
  • Robert Hauck, St. Olaf College
  • Travis Miller, UC San Diego
  • Dennis Mulvihill, Kenyon College
  • William Smiddy, Johns Hopkins University
  • Allen Weik, Denison University
  • Andrew Wilson, Emory University
Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x