CSCAA Announces Joe Dykstra as President Elect for 2020


The College Swimming & Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) has announced the addition of two new members to its Board of Directors along with the creation of a new board position to be served by an athletic administrator.  Head coach, Joe Dykstra of the University of Utah was elected as the association’s president-elect. He will serve in that role for one year before assuming the role of president in 2020.

Joe Dykstra (coach), University of Utah Swim team August 26, 2013 in Salt Lake City, Utah. (Photo/Steve C. Wilson)

Brad Shively, head coach of Washington University in Saint Louis was elected to the board of directors as the Division III men’s team representative. The Association also announced the re-election of Brian Schrader (Denver) as Secretary, Matthew Barany (Richmond) as Treasure, McGee Moody (South Carolina) as Division I representative, and Heidi Voigt (Northern Michigan) as Division II representative. The election took place at the CSCAA’s annual business meeting, held in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina on May 5th.

Full Board Roster

“As we continue to grow, Joe and Brad bring a wide range of relevant experience and expertise to our Board of Directors,” noted CSCAA Executive Director, Greg Earhart. “Joe has led both Power 5 and Mid-Major programs and recognizes each of our Division I members’ needs.  At the same time, Brad has earned the respect not just in the Division III community, but across all sectors of swimming.   I am excited that we were able to attract candidates of their stature.”

Dykstra will assume the role of CSCAA President starting May of 2020, succeeding Clark Campbell (Kansas). “Joe and Brad will add so much to CSCAA board,” Campbell said. “We are fortunate they have the passion for service. Both have long track records of success and have the leadership intangibles that will help grow our association forward.”

Joe has been at the helm of Utah’s swimming and diving program since 2013, where he has successfully led the program in the water and in the classroom. Dykstra has also served on the NCAA Swimming & Diving Committee. He will complete his four-year term this June as the committee chair. “I am humbled and honored to be elected to serve in this role with the CSCAA,” said Dykstra.  “The organization is so valuable on so many levels.  I have such deep respect for the current and former presidents and board members, and am excited to hopefully bring a tremendous level of service and leadership to the board moving forward.”

Brad Shively joins the CSCAA board as the Division III Men’s representative. He will replace Sean Tedesco of the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy whose term expires in June. “Sean departs having left his mark on the board and the association” says Earhart. “He almost single-handedly created our regional Division III polls which have provided recognition for dozens of more deserving programs throughout the country.  He has also, rather unexpectedly, become one of our most popular convention speakers. His message of fiscal responsibility should be required of every coach.”

In March, Shively completed is 19th season as the head coach for WashU. Most recently, he was named the 2019 CSCAA Division III Men’s Swimming Coach-of-the-Year. “The CSCAA has been an important resource to allow college coaches to connect with other college coaches.  These connections allow coaches to develop as professionals, to encourage mentoring, to be an advocate for our teams, and to help us to better serve our swimmers and divers,” Shively said. “I am excited to serve on the board for all of the college swimming & diving programs and look forward to the growth of this great sport.”

Two additional action items were approved during the CSCAA business meeting. Most notably, 93% of the membership voted to add a senior athletic administrator as a voting member to its Board of Directors.  The vote makes the CSCAA one of the very few (along with the Intercollegiate Tennis Association) coaching associations to have an administrator as a full board member. The CSCAA membership also voted to change its bylaws to move the deadline for annual award nominations to December rather than March.

A complete list of board members for the College Swimming & Diving Coaches Association of America can be found at

About the CSCAA

Founded in 1922, the College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) was the first nation’s first association for intercollegiate coaches of any sport.  The CSCAA works to serve and provide leadership for the advancement of swimming and diving on the collegiate level.

— The above press release was posted by Swimming World in conjunction with CSCAA. For press releases and advertising inquiries please contact