Chad Le Clos Dominates 200 Fly Final, Third Straight Commonwealth Title

Photo Courtesy: Anesh Debiky

Editorial content for the Commonwealth Games coverage is sponsored by TritonWear. Visit for more information on our sponsor. For full Swimming World coverage, check event coverage page.

Chad Le Clos would not be challenged in the men’s 200 fly final as the South African cruised to his third straight Commonwealth Games title in the event. Despite falling off his own pace down the stretch, Le Clos was so far ahead of the field that no one was going to come close.

Le Clos finished in 1:54.00, breaking his own Games record of 1:55.07 set in 2014 in Glasgow. He won by a whopping 2.36 seconds over Australian David Morgan, who claimed the silver in 1:56.36. Scotland’s Duncan Scott, better known for his freestyle abilities, claimed bronze in 1:56.60.

Australia’s Grant Irvine just missed the medals with a fourth-place time of 1:56.91, and he was followed by England’s Jacob Peters (1:57.75), Canada’s Mack Darragh (1:57.81), New Zealand’s Lewis Clareburt (1:58.51) and India’s Sajan Prakash (1:59.05).


Share and Tweet This Story

1 comment

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial