Canadians Perform Well During Montreal Stop of FINA Diving Grand Prix

LAUSANNE, Switzerland, May 7. CANADIANS were in top shape at the second stop of the FINA Diving Grand Prix 2012 held in Montreal (CAN) from May 3-6. The locals climbed the podium seven times and pocketed the two women's synchro titles. Among men, the pair Reuben Ross/Alexandre Despatie was second in the 3m springboard synchro, Despatie again taking silver in the individual same event.

Other nations to produce fine performances in Montreal were Australia, Cuba, Mexico, Malaysia, Sweden, China and Spain.

Australia's rising talent Ethan Warren remained unchallenged in the men's 3m springboard, totalling 511.75 points. Andres Villarreal from Mexico captured gold in the men's 10m platform, scoring 512 points, ahead of Cubans Jose Guerra and Jenkler Aguirre, second and third, respectively. The two paired for the win in the synchro same event while Malaysian duo Huang Qiang/Bryan Nickson were the happy winners in the 3m springboard synchro.

The still-competitive Anna Lindberg (SWE) took out the women's 3m springboard, totalling 344.40. Pamela Ware (CAN) and Sharleen Stratton (AUS) finished second and third, respectively. Malaysia's hopeful Pandelela Rinong (MAS) finished on top in the women's 10m platform, followed by Roseline Filion (CAN) and Melissa Wu (AUS), claiming second and third spots, respectively. The only podium for China was a third-place finish in the women's 3m springboard synchro.

3m springboard: 1. Ethan Warren (AUS) 511.75; 2. Alexandre Despatie (CAN) 497.20; 3. Javier Illana (ESP) 482.60
10m platform: 1. Andres Villarreal (MEX) 512.00; 2. Jose Guerra (CUB) 510.30; 3. Jenkler Aguirre (CUB) 480.50
3m springboard synchro: 1. Huang Qiang/Bryan Nickson (MAS) 431.10; 2. Reuben Ross/Alexandre Despatie (CAN) 419.58; 3. Rommel Pacheco/Jonathan Rovalcaba (MEX) 388.71
10m platform synchro: 1. Jose Guerra/Jenkler Aguirre (CUB) 453.36; 2. Jesper Tolvers/Christofer Eskilsson (SWE) 381.33; 3. Jahir Ocampo/Jonathan Rovalcaba (MEX) 379.62

3m springboard: 1. Anna Lindberg (SWE) 344.40; 2. Pamela Ware (CAN) 333.75; 3. Sharleen Stratton (AUS) 328.95
10m platform: 1. Pandelela Rinong (MAS) 379.70; 2. Roseline Filion (CAN) 363.85; 3. Melissa Wu (AUS) 360.25
3m springboard synchro: 1. Jennifer Abel/Emilie Heymans (CAN) 323.40; 2. Anabelle Smith/Sharleen Stratton (AUS) 318.60; 3. Li Kang/Yi Sheng (CHN) 299.91
10m platform synchro: 1. Meaghan Benfeito/Roseline Filion (CAN) 327.96; 2. Pamela Ware/Carol-Ann Ware (CAN) 326.28; 3. Loudy Wiggins/Rachel Bugg (AUS) 316.86

Full FINA Diving Grand Prix 2012 calendar:

No1: Rostock (GER), February 10-12
No2: Montreal (CAN), May 3-6
No3: Fort Lauderdale (USA), May 10-13
No4: St Petersburg (RUS), June 8-10
No5: Madrid (ESP), June 15-17
No6: Bolzano (ITA) from June 22-24

The above article is a press release submitted to Swimming World Magazine. It has been posted in its entirety without editing. Swimming World offers all outlets the chance to reach our audience by contacting us at However, Swimming World reserves the right to choose what material is posted.