Cal Poly Leads Own Cal Poly Shootout After Day One

SAN LUIS OBISPO, California, November 10. CAL Poly won 15 of the 16 women's swimming and diving events en route to a commanding lead after the first of two days of competition in the Cal Poly Shootout on Friday at the Anderson Aquatic Center.

Angie Haven and Allison de Peralta each won two events as the Mustangs compiled 1,092 points. Pepperdine was a distant second with 509 points, followed by Azusa Pacific with 484 and Concordia University of Irvine with 375.

The Cal Poly men's team also is in first place with 371 points, followed by Concordia with 162 points.

Senior Angie Haven won the 50 yard breaststroke (30.72) and the 100 yard breaststroke (1:06.37), placed second in the 400 yard IM and swam the breaststroke leg of the second place 200 yard medley relay team (1:50.96)

Freshman Allison de Peralta won the 50 yard backstroke (27.28) and the 100 yard backstroke, swam the freestlye leg of the first place 200 yard medley relay team (1:48.12) and finished fourth in the 400 yard IM (4:40.61).

Other Mustang winners include Nicole Antoniuk in the 1,650 freestyle (17:39.84), Rachel O'Brien in the 100 butterfly (57.41), Chrissy Thomas in the 50 yard freestyle(25.74), Alisha Bender in the 100 freestyle (53.68), Katrina Anderson in the 500 freestyle (5:03.38), Taylor Guy in the 50 yard butterfly (27.59) and Amanda Maffris in the 400 yard IM (4:29.06).

Sami McIntyre won the three-meter diving event with 288.70 points and was second off the one-meter board (234.20). Grace Greenwood won the one-meter board with 257.10 points.

Cal Poly also won the final event, the 200 freestyle relay, with Danielle Wong, Alisha Bender, Kelsey Engel and Rachel Cleak turning in a combined time of 1:39.50.

Jimmy Deiparine, Sonny Fierro, Luca Casimiro and Mickey Mackle won two events. Deiparine won the 50 yard breaststroke (26.89) and the 100 breaststroke (58.77). Fierro won the 200 yard freestyle (1:45.66) and the 500 yard freestyle (4:41.97). Casimiro won the 100 butterfly (52.15) and the 50 yard butterfly (23.68). Mackle won the 100 yard backstroke (52.55) and the 400 yard IM (4:05.30).

In addition, Ian Sinclair won the 1,650 freestyle (16:06.45), Jeff Allison won the 50 yard backstroke (25.51) and Mackey Hopen won the 50 yard freestyle (21.64).

The above article is a press release submitted to Swimming World Magazine. It has been posted in its entirety without editing. Swimming World offers all outlets the chance to reach our audience by contacting us at However, Swimming World reserves the right to choose what material is posted.