Caeleb Dressel Anchors Medley Relay in 17.90 in First SEC Race

Photo Courtesy: Andy Ringgold / Aringo Photos

By Dan D’Addona.

The first night of the SEC Championships is usually low key.

Diving and a couple of relays open the meet as most of the athletes prepare for the rest of the week.

Florida’s Caeleb Dressel made sure there were some fireworks on the first night, anchoring the 200-yard medley relay in 17.90. The anchor teamed with Jack Blyzinskyj, Chandler Bray and Jan Switkowski to win the relay in 1:23.44, an SEC record.

Dressel’s split marked just the second time any man had split under 18 on a relay after Vlad Morozov posted a 17.86 in 2013. Of course, Dressel has plenty more chances to get to or better that mark this season.

The Gators barely held off Alabama’s Connor Oslin, Pavel Romanov, Luke Kaliszak and Zane Waddell (1:23.52), which also was under the previous meet record set in 2009.

Florida made it two-for-two on relay wins as Khader Baqlah, Maxime Rooney, Mitch D’Arrigo and Mark Szaranek won the 800 free relay in 6:12.18, breaking the SEC meet record and the pool record.

Auburn finished four seconds behind.

Tennessee’s Liam Stone won 1-meter diving with 420.70 points.

In the women’s meet, the defending national champion Georgia Bulldogs got off to a fast start with Olivia Smoliga, Emily Cameron, Chelsea Britt and Chantal Van Landeghem winning the 200 medley relay in 1:35.28, a pool record at Tennessee.

Texas A&M was second (1:35.33), followed by Tennessee (1:35.45).

Texas A&M’s Sarah Gibson, Sydney Pickrem, Katie Portz and Claire Rasmus won the 800 free relay in 6:57.90 — two seconds ahead of Kentucky.


  1. The Real Mr. Burns

    Good Lord: it took me longer to compose this tweet. ???

  2. Richard McLean

    Lachlan Staples James Boyce

  3. Bob Perkins

    Rainey holy moly…

  4. Joel Dodds

    Dave – looked at the RTs. The Alabama anchor was 0.70, went 18.59, and they lost by .08. Dressel was a 0.21 RT.

  5. Stefan Kwant

    Damn this guy is fast Niels Wiersema Rowan Keen Derk Jan Speelman Marcel Groen

    • Marcel Groen

      Vraag hem voor de uursestafette 😉

  6. Sergii Fesenko

    Во пацанчик даёт. Прошлый сезон Олимпийский закончил с 18:30 , а сегодня 17:90!!! Браво