British Long Course Championships: Hannah Miley Sets European Record in 200 IM

SHEFFIELD, England, March 17. AFTER a world record opened the British Long Course Championships yesterday, Hannah Miley checked in with a European standard on the second night of action.

Miley clocked a time of 2:09.59 to dominate the women's 200 IM and break the continental record of 2:10.68 set by Yana Klochkova back in 2000. Kerianne Payne placed second in 2:13.41, while Sophie Allen took third in 2:14.05.

Ellen Gandy began the evening with a national record in the women's 100 fly when she hit the wall in 57.49, while Fran Halsall took second in 58.11. Jessica Sylvester placed third in 1:00.08. Liam Tancock provided another national record with a swift time of 53.20 in the men's 100 back. Marco Loughran (54.51) and Chris Walker-Hebborn (54.96) completed the podium.

Meanwhile, Michael Rock came up just short of Stephen Parry's national record of 1:55.52 in the men's 200 fly with a top time of 1:55.68. Joseph Roebuck took second in 1:57.67, while Ian Powell placed third in 1:58.66. Elizabeth Simmonds followed in the women's 100 back with a winning time of 1:01.10 as she touched out Georgia Davis (1:01.25). Rachel Lefley placed third in 1:02.67.

The 50 frees completed finals for the night as Adam Brown won the men's heat in 22.27. Charles Turner (22.66) and Paul Robinson (22.72) touched second and third. Additionally, Halsall claimed the women's title in 24.53 with Katherine Wyld (25.57) and Amy Smith (25.59) rounding out the top three.

In semifinal swimming, Kristopher Gilchrist topped the men's 100 breast in 1:00.57, while Kate Haywood earned the top seed in the women's 100 breast in 1:08.44. Lewis Smith paced qualifying in the men's 200 IM in 2:02.48 with James Goddard (2:02.68) finishing right behind.

Later, Joanne Jackson followed up on her world-record performance in the women's 400 free with a leading time of 1:56.96 in the women's 200 free semis. Andrew Hunter (1:47.10) lead a trio of swimmers under 1:48 during the men's 200 free semis that included David Davies (1:47.31) and Robert Renwick (1:47.55).