Bluegrass Mountain Conference Championships, Day Four

CHARLOTTE, North Carolina, February 18. THE Lenoir-Rhyne Men’s and Women’s Swimming Teams concluded the 2012 Bluegrass Mountain Conference Championship Saturday at the Mecklenburg Aquatic Club with another day of school records.

In the team standings, the L-R women’s squad placed seventh overall with 183 points while the Bears’ men finished 10th and accumulated 107 points. Both finishes were the highest in school history.
Johns Hopkins (818 points) took first on the women’s side while Wingate (714 points) prevailed in the men’s championship for the fifth straight year.

Lenoir-Rhyne freshman Chelsea Kyle (Knoxville, Tenn.) won the women’s 200-yard butterfly with a school-record time of 2:04.71. Kyle is L-R’s first-ever conference champion.

Meanwhile, freshman Maegan Jones (Massillon, Ohio) set a new school record in the women’s 1,650-yard freestyle (18:45.43) as did freshman Chris Tilque (Charlotte, N.C.) in the men’s 100-yard freestyle (47.64).
Senior Lindsay Atkin (Hickory, N.C.) placed fifth in the women’s 200-yard breaststroke with a school-record 2:24.89 while junior Alec Reitzel (Hickory, N.C.) swam a new Bears’ record of 1:56.34 in the men’s 200-yard butterfly.

Finally, both squads set new program marks in the 400-yard freestyle relay with times of 3:42.66 (women) and 3:11.96 (men), respectively.

The Lenoir-Rhyne Men’s and Women’s Swimming Teams will next compete in the 2012 NCAA Division II Swimming and Diving National Championships on March 14-17 in Mansfield, Texas.

The above article is a press release submitted to Swimming World Magazine. It has been posted in its entirety without editing. Swimming World offers all outlets the chance to reach our audience by contacting us at However, Swimming World reserves the right to choose what material is posted.