Blair Bish Drops 51.93 100 Breast at Men’s MAC Championships

Photo Courtesy: Missouri State Athletics

Missouri State stole the show on night three of the 2018 Men’s Mid-American Conference Championships. The Bears’ Blair Bish set a new MAC record in the 100 breast, as did their 4×100 medley relay.

It will all come down to the fourth and final day tomorrow: Missouri State, who lost last year by one point, are searching for their 20th overall title while Eastern Michigan is in pursuit of their fourth-consecutive and 35th overall league crown.

Heading into the final day of competition, Missouri State leads with 591.5 points followed by Eastern Michigan (499), Miami Ohio (480), Southern Illinois (303.5), Evansville (145) and Ball State (135).

Full Results

Men’s 400 IM

Missouri State’s Christopher Heye began the night by winning gold in the 400 IM after knocking off nearly six seconds from his prelims time. The senior, who finished third in this event last year, stopped the clock in 3:47.99 to win the event by three seconds.

Miami Ohio’s Kayky Mota earned the silver in 3:51.00 and Missouri State’s Phillip Willett grabbed the bronze in 3:52.56.

Missouri State’s Bryce Blattner (3:53.06), Eastern Michigan’s Parker Saladin (3:53.64), Southern Illinois’ Christopher Cole (3:53.78), Miami Ohio’s James McGuire (3:56.03) and Missouri State’s Minki Kang (3:56.44) completed the top heat.

Men’s 100 Fly

Missouri State’s Artur Osvath found himself at the top of the podium for the second time this meet, this time in the 100 fly. After finishing second in the event last year, the junior touched the wall in 46.84 for the win.

Miami Ohio’s Iago Moussalem do Amaral finished second in 47.26 and Eastern Michigan’s Logan Burton took third in 47.37.

Eastern Michigan’s Chris O’Shea (48.10), Missouri State’s Jake Schultz (48.16), Southern Illinois Tamas Hajtman (48.31), Missouri State’s Will Frisbie (48.59) and Southern Illinois’ Joao Facciotti (48.71) rounded out the A-final.

Men’s 200 Free

After taking second in the 50 free last night, Eastern Michigan’s Carter Swift found himself in first tonight. The freshman finished the 200 free in 1:35.42, just out-touching the runner-up for his first individual MAC title.

Swift’s teammate Jake Tyson finished second in a close 1:35.46 while Missouri State’s Kacper Cwiek took third in 1:37.97.

Miami Ohio’s Gordon Wheeler (1:38.03), Miami Ohio’s Diego Valentim (1:38.22), Miami Ohio’s Justin Andrews (1:38.29), Southern Illinois’ Reilly Garman (1:38.76) and Eastern Michigan’s JF Murphy (1:38.94) also swam in the fastest heat.

Men’s 100 Breast

Missouri State’s Blair Bish won the 100 breast in record-setting fashion. The junior finished with a time of 51.93, breaking his own MAC record of 52.20 set earlier this season at the Purdue Invitational. That time currently ranks Bish, who transferred from Arizona, seventh in the NCAA so far this season.

Miami Ohio’s Hutch Blackstone took silver in 52.87 and Missouri State’s Nicholas Theunissen grabbed the bronze in 53.85.

Missouri State’s Phillip Willett (54.28), Eastern Michigan’s Matthew Tsenkov (54.91), Miami Ohio’s Noah Barr (54.95), Missouri State’s Samuel Senn (55.06) and Southern Illinois’ Chris Phillips (55.66) rounded out the A-final.

Men’s 100 Back

Eastern Michigan’s Tosh Kawaguchi cruised to first in the 100 back as the only swimmer under 48 seconds. The junior, who finished third in this event last year, posted a final time of 47.54 for the win.

His teammate Logan Burton got to the wall second in 48.43 and Evansville’s Credence Pattinson took third in 48.44.

Missouri State’s Thomas Heye (48.64), Missouri State’s Conner Ripp (48.82), Miami Ohio’s Pete Simcox (48.88), Miami Ohio’s James Wray (48.99) and Schultz (49.29) also competed in the A-final.

Men’s 4×100 Medley Relay

Missouri State’s Heye (48.70), Bish (51.62), Osvath (46.62) and Lucas Paloschi (43.52) dominated the night’s final event, winning with a time of 3:10.46. Their time eclipsed the previos MAC record of 3:10.56 set by the Bears in 2015.

Eastern Michigan finished second in 3:12.38 and Miami Ohio’s took third in 3:12.38.

Prelims for the final day of competition will begin on Saturday at 10:30 a.m. EST.