Big Night for Egg Harbor Seahawks at Christiansburg Speedo Sectionals

christian-fossum-mitchell-aquatic-breaststroke-2017-lincoln-sectionals 5
Photo Courtesy: Aidan Cho

Speedo Sectional Series is proudly sponsored by Speedo. Visit for more information on our sponsor.

The Egg Harbor Seahawks had a big night three of the 2018 Speedo Sectionals Championship Series in Christiansburg, Va.

They currently lead the team scores with 594 points heading into the final day of competition, followed by Monocacy (509.5), Nation’s Capital (450), Radnor (430) and Machine (414).

Full results can be found on Meet Mobile – 2018 EZ Southern Region Speedo Champ Series.

Retriever’s Morgan Liberto dropped nearly two seconds from her morning swim to dominate the women’s 200 fly in 2:00.12. MSC’s Ellen Brooks placed second in 2:04.06 and Eagle’s Danielle Ghine finished third in 2:05.74.

Kevin Lin of MAC won the men’s 200 fly, stopping the clock in 1:49.38. Egg Harbor’s Cristian Bell was second in 1:50.12 and MAC’s Matthew Bennici was third in 1:51.79.

Monocacy’s Natalie Kucsan sprinted her way to first place in the women’s 50 free, doing so in 23.79. Radnor’s Madison Ledwith took second in 23.80 and Nation’s Capital’s Krysten Davis placed third in 23.85.

Egg Harbor’s Joseph Rogers splashed and dashed his way to a win in the men’s 50 free in 20.98. Second went to Nittany Lion’s Matthew Brownstead (21.05) and third went to Machine’s Atalay Onol (21.15).

Snow Swimming’s Shelby Gerving won the women’s 200 breast in 2:19.50. Egg Harbor’s Katie McClintock placed second in 2:19.99 and Radnor’s Anna Kalandadze finished third in 2:20.57.

Severna Park’s Jackson Schultz cruised to first in the men’s 200 breast, touching the wall in 2:01.90. Egg Harbor’s Erik Truong placed second in 2:03.44 and third went to Nittany Lion’s Michael Challis in 2:03.92.

Retriever’s Morgan Liberto cruised to first in the women’s 100 back in 54.81. Dig Swimming’s Abby Reardon grabbed second in 55.76 and Ghine was third in 56.00.

Bell earned the gold in the men’s 100 back, posting a final time of 49.44. Arena Club’s Mason Young grabbed the silver in 50.17 and bronze went to Machine’s Jayaprakash Kambhampaty in 50.38.

Egg Harbor’s Maggie Wallace dominated the women’s 500 free, getting her hand to the wall in 4:47.94 for the win. Kalandadze finished second in 4:53.35 and Egg Harbor’s Lauren Kelly took third in 4:57.60.

Joseph Moll of Lancaster won the men’s 500 in a time of 4:35.36, followed by Lin in 4:35.63 and Lancaster’s Nicholas Lynam in 4:36.26.

Prelims for the final day of competition will begin tomorrow at 9:00 a.m. EST.

1 comment