Berkoff, Heasley Win Twice On First Day of Federal Way Sectionals

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Speedo Sectional Series is proudly sponsored by Speedo. Visit for more information on our sponsor.

Katharine Berkoff and Ethan Heasley each won two events on day one of the 2018 Speedo Sectionals Championship Series in Federal Way, Wash.

After the first full day of competition, King leads the men’s team scores with 326 points, followed by Hillsboro (227) and Tualatin Hills (222).

On the women’s side, Fort Collins leads with 404 points with King in second (297) and Tualatin Hills (204).

Full results can be found on Meet Mobile – 2018 Speedo Sectionals Federal Way.

Corvallis’ Lindsey Soule, who is committed to swim for Nevada, dropped over seven seconds to win the women’s 1000 free to begin the meet. She finished in 9:57.64 as the only swimmer to crack the 10-minute mark. Charger’s Allison Bernier was second in 10:03.58 and King’s Yulia Groysman was third in 10:04.28.

Hillsboro’s Ethan Heasley was the only swimmer to crack the nine-minute barrier, dropping over eight seconds to win in 8:59.64. Corvallis’ Noah Vial was second in 9:05.26 and Hillsboro’s Luke Thornbrue swam to third in 9:12.25.

Missoula’s Katharine Berkoff sprinted her way to the win in the women’s 100 free, stopping the clock in 49.18. Pro Swimming’s Janelle Rudolph (49.33) and The Dolphins Portland’s Kaitlyn Dobler (49.63) finished second and third, respectively.

Iolani’s ‘aukai lileikis cruised to first in the men’s 100 free, touching the wall in 42.72 to win by over one second. The Dolphins Portland’s Caspar Corbeau was second in 43.78 and Fort Collins’ William Kovac took third in 43.79.

Fort Collins’ Zoe Bartel dominated the women’s 200 breast, winning by well over three seconds. The Stanford commit got her hands to the wall first in 2:06.24. She was followed by her teammates Coleen Gillilan (2:09.77) in second and Caraline Baker (2:13.45) in third.

Another future Stanford Cardinal dominated the men’s 200 breast: King’s Daniel Roy finished first in 1:51.69, dropping nearly three seconds from his entry time. His teammate Ethan Dang took second in 1:55.56 and Corbeau finished a close third in 1:55.97.

Berkoff won her second event of the evening, this time in the women’s 200 back. She posted a time of 1:51.40 for the win. Second place went to Fort Collins’ Kylee Alons (1:53.56) and third went to Wasatch Front Fish’s Ryan White (1:53.76).

Billings’ Ethan Harder won the men’s 200 back by just over two seconds, getting his hand to the wall first in 1:43.19. Bellevue’s Kyle Millis finished second in 1:45.23 and King’s Tyler Lu got third in 1:45.54.

Not too long after finishing second in the women’s 200 breast, Gillilan found herself on top of the podium in the 200 fly. Gillilan, who has committed to Notre Dame beginning in 2019, won in 1:56.64. Issaquah’s Sarah Dimeco wound up second in 1:57.84 and third went to Alons in 1:58.15.

Heasley got his second gold medal of the day, this time in the men’s 200 fly after posting a final time of 1:45.93. Iolani’s Micah Ornelas got the silver in 1:46.33 and the bronze went to Missoula’s Van Mathias in 1:46.38.

Fort Collins’ Alons (1:48.67), Bartel (1:48.51), Bayley Stewart (1:52.85) and Gillilan (1:49.46) dominated the women’s 4×200 free relay, beating the rest of the field by nearly five seconds with a final time of 7:19.49. Tualatin Hills was second in 7:24.31 and King was third in 7:25.07.

Tualatin Hills’ Ethan Luc (1:37.26), Corbeau (1:38.53), Marco Nosack (1:41.80) and Trenton Martinez (1:37.31) won the men’s 4×200 free relay by nearly five seconds in 6:34.90. Charger was second in 6:39.42 and Hilssboro was third in 6:42.88.

Prelims for the second day of competition will begin at 9:00 a.m. PDT.