Ball State Sweeps House of Champions Meet

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana, December 2. THE Ball State men's and women's swimming and diving teams took first-place honors at the 2006 House of Champions hosted by IUPUI. The meet started on Friday (Dec. 1) and ended Saturday night (Dec. 2). Out of four teams, Ball State scored 976 points to win the meet for the women and the men scored a 938.5.

The men opened action on Saturday with a win in the 200 free relay. Eric Mattingly (Muncie, Ind./Yorktown), Ryan Franklin (Crown Point, Ind./Lake Central), Jacob Morris (Walton, Ind./Lewis Cass) and Ben Battjes (Elkhart, Ind./Elkhart Memorial) clocked in a time of 1:36.65 for the victory.

Emily Hurst (Zionsville, Ind./North Central) placed first in the 400 IM (4:37.94) while teammate Mary Brinkoetter (Decatur, Ill./Saint Teresa) took second (4:40.61). Kyle Hembree (Middlebury, Ind./Northridge) won the event for the men with a time of 4:13.01.

Ian McIntosh (Fort Wayne, Ind./Snider) took the top spot in the 100 fly (54.96). Ben Karwoski (Bluffton, Ind./Bluffton) swam a 1:45.34 to win the 200 free. Stephanie Paul (Mishawaka, Ind./Mishawaka) and Katie Boyle (Valparaiso, Ind./Valparaiso) went one-two respectively in the one-meter dive. Paul scored a 264.30 while Boyle finished with a 231.30. Zach Whitaker (Coatesville, Ind./North Putnam) came in second in the men's one-meter after a 248.05 final.

The women took first in the 800 free with the quartet of Brinkoetter, Michelle Huang (Elkhart, Ind./Elkhart Central), Sarah Kehe (Westville, Ind./Chesterson), and Erika Paul (McCordsville, Ind./Hamilton SE) with a time of 7:49.16.

The BSU men also won the event with a time of 7:11.71 with the foursome of Hembree, Jason Blosser (Fort Wayne, Ind.), Mark Augustyn (Highland, Ind./Highland) and Karwoski). Hembree captured first in the 1650 free (16:25.55). Brittany Sayler (Crawfordsville, Ind./Southmont) earned first in the 200 back (2:07.92).