Art Adamson Invitational Day 2: Olivia Theall, Connor Foote Power Texas A&M Victories

Chloe Stepanek-texas-A&M
Chloe Stepanek; Photo Courtesy: Craig Bisacre / Texas A&M Athletics

The Texas A&M 2023 Art Adamson Invitational continued with Day 1 from College Station, Texas.

The Day 2 events were the women’s and men’s 200 medley relay, 400 IM, 100 butterfly, 200 free, 100 breaststroke, 100 backstroke and 800 freestyle relay.

More College News

Women’s 200 medley relay

Texas A&M claimed the first victory of the night as Miranda Grana, Bobbi Kennett, Olivia Theall and Chloe Stepanek won the 200 medley relay in 1:37.04.

UCLA’s Fay Lustria, Sarah Bennetts, Joanie Cash and Brooke Schaffer took second in 1:37.96.

LSU’s Katarina Milutinovich, Tatum Detwiler, Maddie Howell and Michaela De Villiers took third in 1:38.57.

Men’s 200 medley relay

Texas A&M made it a sweep of the medley relay as the men won behind Thomas Shomper, Alex Sanchez, Connor Foote and Baylor Nelson, who finished in 1:23.83.

LSU’s Griffin Curtis, Mitch Mason, Pawel Uryniuk and Jere Hribar took second in 1:25.61.

Utah’s Parker McOmber, Jaek Horner, Jackson Kehler and Davis Stachelek took third in 1:26.78.

Women’s 400 IM

UCLA’s Paige MacEachern put together a strong race to win the 400 IM by nearly two seconds.

The junior got to the wall in 4:06.15 to claim the victory.

Texas A&M’s Giulia Goerigk took second in 4:07.91, followed by UCLA’s Rosie Murphy (4:10.67).

Men’s 400 IM

Texas A&M’s Baylor Nelson claimed another win, this time in the 400 IM, leading a 1-2-3 sweep.

Nelson finished in 3:38.33, followed by Max Vega Cuevas (3:43.19) and Munzy Kabbara (3:46.41).

Women’s 100 butterfly

The Aggies got another win, this time from senior Olivia Theall. She was the lone swimmer in the field to break 52 seconds and won the race in 51.96.

UCLA’s Aislinn Walsh took second in 52.82, followed by Texas A&M’s Katie Walker (53.19).

Men’s 100 butterfly

Texas A&M went 1-2 in the men’s 100 fly as Connor Foote claimed the win in 45.02.

Teammate Clayton Conkin was second in 46.09 as both Aggies finished well ahead of the field.

LSU’s Pawel Uryniuk took third in 47.88.

Women’s 200 freestyle

Four in a row for the Aggies as Chloe Stepanek won the 200 free. The senior finished in 1:43.98, more than a second and a half ahead of the field.

LSU’s Megan Barnes finished second in 1:45.40, ahead of teammate Reagan Osborne (1:46.57).

Men’s 200 freestyle

LSU’s Jovan Lekic led a 1-2 sweep for the Tigers. The freshman won the race in 1:35.93. Teammate Andrew Garon was second in 1:26.14.

Utah’s Jakub Walter took third in 1:36.54.

Women’s 100 breaststroke

Houston’s Henrietta Fangli took the win in the 100 breaststroke. She finished in 1:00.03.

Texas A&M senior Bobbi Kennett took second in 1:00.31, ahead of teammate Charlotte Longbottom (1:00.46).

Men’s 100 breaststroke

Utah’s Jaek Horner claimed a victory in the men’s 100 breaststroke in a close race.

Horner got to the wall in 51.32 to finish just ahead of Texas A&M’s Alex Sanchez, who touched in 51.37.

Aggie teammate Logan Brown took third in 52.14.

Women’s 100 backstroke

Texas A&M went 1-2 with Miranda Grana claiming victory in 51.73, a second and a half ahead of the field.

Teammate Jordan Buechler took second in 53.31, followed by LSU’s Katarina Milutinovich (53.54).

Men’s 100 backstroke

Another 1-2 finish for the Aggies with Thomas Shomper finished first in 46.21. Teammate Tyler Hulet was second in 46.90.

LSU’S Griffin Curtis finished third in 47.27.


Women’s 800 free relay

The Aggies won the event behind Jordan Buechler, Abby Grottle, Giulia Goerigk and Chloe Stepanek, winning in 7:05.81.

LSU’s Reagan Osborne, Katarina Milutinovich, Megan Barnes and Chloe Cheng took second in 7:08.63.

UCLA’s Paige MacEachern, Gizem Guvenc, Maya Wilson and Brooke Schaffer took third in 7:09.92.


Men’s 800 free relay

Texas A&M’s Baylor Nelson, Connor Foote, Max Vega Cuevas and Trey Dickey won the 800 free relay in 6:26.06 to close out the session.

LSU’s Karlo Percinic, Jovan Lekic, Andrew Garon and Jacob Pishko took second in 6:26.65.

Utah’s Evan VanBrocklin, Jakub Walter, Nick Chirafisi and Davis Stachelek took third in 6:31.16.



Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x