Arizona’s Margo Geer Sweeps Sprint Freestyle Events With 100 Free Victory

Editorial coverage sponsored by SpeedoUSA

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana, March 23. ARIZONA's Margo Geer completed the sprint free sweep with a sterling time of 47.19, a bit slower than her preliminary time of 47.17 in the 100-yard free at the NCAA Division I Women's Championships.

That makes Geer just the second Wildcat victor in the event, joining Lacey Nymeyer's 47.50 from 2008 as winning times for the Tucson-based school. Geer went out fast in 22.69, and dropped the hammer on the way home with a 24.50 to capture the win.

Megan Romano led a monster event for the Georgia Bulldogs, likely clinching the NCAA team title. Romano took second in 47.37, while teammates Allison Schmitt (48.04), Shannon Vreeland (48.41) and Chantal Van Landeghem (48.21) took fifth, seventh and ninth, respectively. Van Landeghem won the B final after a scoreboard error initially did not catch her time.

Florida's Natalie Hinds raced to third in 47.73, while teammate Ellese Zalewski earned fourth in 47.99. California's Rachael Acker (48.29) and Tennessee's Lindsay Gendron (48.56) also competed in the championship finale.

Georgia nearly cleared 400 points after the gigantic event as the Bulldogs finished the 100 free with 381 points. California still stood second with 324 points, while Florida moved into third with 279 points. Arizona moved up to fourth with 277 points, while Tennessee fell to fifth with 274.5 points.