Arizona Invitational: SwimMAC Pro Relay Wins on Night One

By David Rieder

TEMPE, Arizona, May 27. THE Arizona Invitational opened tonight with the 800 free and two sprint relays for each gender. Among the top attendees at the meet include many of the top professionals from SwimMAC Carolina and the top swimmers from the University of Arizona.

Nashville Aquatic Club's Morgan Flynn grabbed the win in the women's 800 free in 9:05.15, two seconds ahead of Wild West's Sam Harding, who checked in at 9:07.25. Sun Devil's Cassie Morrice finished third in 9:11.38. Sun Devil went 1-2 in the men's 800 free; Josh Olszewski won in 8:45.08, and teammate Hayden Thomas finished second in 8:52.49. Fort Collins' Alex Tooley ended up third in 9:00.21.

SwimMAC's Eugene Godsoe, Josh Schneider, Cullen Jones, and Nick Brunelli grabbed the win in the men's 200 free relay in 1:32.30. Sun Devil's Sara Jurek, Trinsley Andrews, Lauren Torres, and Leticia Lelli won the women's relay in 1:51.03. Sun Devil's Thalia Harrison, Rebecca Ejdervik, Lelli, and Jurek finished first in the women's 200 medley relay in 2:01.68, while their male teammates Ryan Telep, Andrew Maciniak, Ryan Dignan, and Alex Brouwer matched the feat, clocking 1:51.45 for the win in the men's medley relay.