Andrew Teduits First Wisconsin NCAA Titlist Since 1959 With 200 Back Win

Editorial coverage sponsored by SpeedoUSA

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana, March 30. ANDREW Teduits became Wisconsin's first NCAA titlist since 1959 with a dominant swim in the men's 200-yard back at the NCAA Division I Men's Championships.

Teduits crushed the field with a sizzling time of 1:38.27, having split the race 22.93, 47.60, 1:12.94, 1:38.27. He was under record pace at the 100, and right on NCAA-record pace at the 150. That swim made him the sixth-fastest swimmer of all time, as the performance now stands as the eighth-fastest swim ever in the event's history.

Teduits became the first Wisconsin NCAA titlist since Fred Westphal won the 50-yard free with a 22.3 way back in 1959.

David Nolan of Stanford raced to second in 1:39.31. Along with victories in the 200 IM and 100 back, Nolan put up one of the top performances of all time. He just fell a bit short of becoming the first three-time titlist in a single meet since Ryan Lochte in 2006. Nolan's time moved him to 12th all time in the event's history.

California's Jacob Pebley put up a strong time of his own with a third-place effort of 1:39.71. Eastern Michigan's Jacob Hanson (1:39.87), Indiana's Eric Ress (1:39.92), Texas' Kip Darmody (1:41.02) Stanford's Matt Swanston (1:41.43) and Texas' Austin Surhoff (1:41.89) finished fourth through eighth in the finale.

Virginia's Luke Papendick turned in a 1:41.50 to win the B final in the distance dorsal.

Michigan remained on top with 393 points, while California increased its second-place total to 317.5 points. Arizona (241.5), Texas (233) and Southern California (215) rounded out the top five with Stanford (212) just on the outside.