Alex Walsh Sets National Mark; Harpeth Hall Girls, Baylor Boys Win Tennessee HS States

Photo Courtesy: Coach Dan Flack Twitter (@FlackCoach)

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website? Records for High School Are Pending Application Verification.? Click Here to Learn More

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website

The first half of the 2018 Tennessee High School swimming and diving state championships was highlighted by two National High School records- the 200 medley relay, set by the Harpeth Hall girls, and a new 200 freestyle mark swum by Trey Freeman. Fast swims continued on night two.

Those dominating performances secured team titles. The Harpeth Hall girls scored 353 points. Baylor was second with 275. On the boys side Baylor scored 315 points to McCallie’s 257.


Harpeth Hall continued their winning ways into day two as Ophelia Pilkinton dominated the 100 freestyle in 50.05. Collerville’s Erin Milligan was second (51.22) and Central Magnet’s Kailey Orr finished third in 51.31.

Baylor’s Addison Smith interrupted Harpeth Hall’s winning streak with a 4:48.18 500 freestyle. Ella Nelson was second for Harpeth Hall in 4:50.16. She edged Station Camp’s Riley Gaines, who finished third in 4:50.44.

Harpeth Hall won the 200 freestyle relay, but came up just two tenths shy of the National Independent School record. The team went a 1:31.38, and did it without Alex Walsh. Pilkinton (23.18), Alex Massey (23.28), Julia Eskew (23.24), and Gretchen Walsh (21.68) was the winning quartet. Baylor’s Jamee MitchumJewel GordonDallas Woods, and Smith were second in 1:34.74.

Gretchen Walsh then smashed the 100 backstroke field, posting a 52.85 for the win. Ensworth’s Kallie Chelsvig (54.58) and Baylor’s Ellie Waldrep (55.43) earned silver and bronze.

Qy Celichowski of Gps Bruisers won one meter diving with a score of 404.05 points.

Alex Walsh raced to a 58.88 100 yard breaststroke tonight to set another National Independent School record. Walsh’s swim destroyed the previous mark, a 1:00.05, set by eventual Stanford swimmer Sarah Haase in 2012. Walsh was also nearly as quick as Emily Weiss, who broke the National Public School record earlier this afternoon, with a 58.40 at the Indiana High School State meet. Walsh won the race by two and a half seconds. Stanford commit and Brentwood Academy senior Allie Raab was second in 1:01.22.

In the final event of the weekend, Harpeth Hall put together one more dominating performance. Pilkinton (51.17), Ella Nelson (50.92), Eskew (51.60), and Alex Walsh (48.78) won the 400 freestyle relay in 3:22.47. Baylor took second in 3:28.37.


Baylor’s Jack Kirby touched in 44.45 to win the 100 freestyle. Nearly a second back was Brentwood’s Matthew Lattin in 45.30. West’s Coleman Kredich rounded out the top three with a 45.34.

Trey Freeman won the 500 free by a significant margin. The University of Florida commit touched in 4:15.53. That effort came up a few seconds shy of the National Independent School record of 4:12.87, set by Grant Shoults in 2016. He was likely aiming for that record after taking down Shoults’ 200 mark last night.

Memphis University’s Rick Reinhard was second in 4:33.49 and L&N Stem’s Ethan Sanders (4:35.26) was third.

The 200 freestyle relay was decided at the touch. Bearden’s Caleb Harrington (20.33), Noah Smith (22.21), Brooks Maupin (22.55), and Luke Brice (21.00) out touched McCallie’s Benjamin Griffith (22.17), Ethan Bevill (20.92), Alex Mignott (21.71), and Will Jackson (21.31) 1:26.09 to 1:26.11 to win the event.

The men’s 100 breaststroke was a tight finish. Jarel Dillard of Aaron Academy touched in 55.02 to win the event. Second place went to Luke Massey of Chattanooga Homeschool with a 55.32. Finishing third was Baylor’s Luis Sebastian Weekes in 56.15.

Baylor won the final event, 400 freestyle relay in impressive fashion. Freeman (43.87), Piotr Kurleto (45.47), Zach Althoff (45.40), and Jack Kirby (44.78) cleared the three minute marker with a 2:59.52. In 3:06.96 McCallie School was second.

Full Results

Meet Preview