After National Title, Andreas Vazaios Excited for Cookies and Training for Tokyo (VIDEO INTERVIEW)


Editorial content for the 2019 NCAA DI Championship coverage is sponsored by See full event coverage. SwimOutlet-Logo

Andreas Vazaios came from behind to capture his second consecutive NCAA title in the 200 fly Saturday evening, finishing in 1:38.57 to beat the field by more than a second. After the race, Vazaios discussed the meaning of his big win and what is next for him in swimming now that his NCAA career has concluded.

Vazaios discussed not only what the title means to him but also what his entire three-year stint at NC State has done for his career. He also explained that he has already qualified for this summer’s World Championships, and he looked ahead to what he has to do to get to the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo as a representative in Greece. He also revealed that he plans to eat plenty cookies now that the NCAA meet is over in celebration.

Recap from 200 fly final:

NC State senior Andreas Vazaios won the 200 fly final on Saturday night at the 2019 NCAA Division I Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships for the second straight year. After moving to third all-time last year, Vazaios swam 0.03 faster in 2019 with a 1:38.57. Vazaios has the quickest second 100 as he used a huge 25.11 on his third 50 to solidify his lead going into the final 50. Vazaios finished ahead of 100 champion Vini Lanza (1:39.63) of Indiana and early leader Zheng Quah (1:39.68) of Cal.

Vazaios improved on his best time as he remains third all-time with his swim tonight. NC State has yet to win an NCAA title this week in Austin and Vazaios ended that drought with his gold in the 200 fly.

Zheng and Lanza are in the top eight all-time list but did not improve on their best times.

Louisville’s Nick Albiero (1:40.08), who has had a quietly successful meet in Austin, placed fourth for the Cardinals for his highest NCAA finish ever. He is now 13th all-time in the 200 fly.

Virginia’s Zach Fong (1:40.28), Cal’s Trenton Julian (1:40.94), Towson’s Jack Saunderson (1:41.06) and Georgia’s Camden Murphy (1:41.97) also swam in the A-Final.

Cal has officially clinched the 2019 NCAA title, their first title since winning in Austin in 2014.

NC State now has four NCAA titles in the 200 fly. Vazaios joins the likes of Richard Fadgen (1956), Steve Gregg (1976) and himself (2018) as winners of the event for the Wolfpack.