5 Swimmers Qualify For Olympic Trials On Day Two of Pleasant Prairie Sectionals

Photo Courtesy: Donna Nelson

By Delaney Lanker, Swimming World College Intern

Day two of the 2016 Pleasant Prairie Speedo Sectionals Championships were competed today. The men’s and women’s 100 back, 100 breast, 200 free, 100 fly and 200 IM were swam.

In the women’s 100 back, the top two finishers swam Olympic qualifying times. Wave Bloomington’s Grace Ariola won the event with a 1:02.07. Tevyn Waddell of Mitchell Aquatic’s came in second place with a 1:02.91 and Ruby Martin of the Iowa Flyers Swim Club went a 1:03.71 for the bronze.

Iowa Flyers Swim Club’s Nicholas Saulnier won the men’s 100 backstroke with a 57.50. Hunter Connelly of Red Wing Swim Club touched in at a 58.13 for the silver medal and unattached Tyler Hines was third with a 58.20.

Valerie Tarazi of Mundelein Mustan went a 1:12.28 for the gold. Imelda Wistey, unattached, was in a close second place with a 1:12.46 and right behind was Vanessa Herrmann of Aquastorm went a 1:12.82 for the bronze.

In the men’s 100 breaststroke, unattached Nicholasbill Schafer won the event in the time of 1:02.37. This is an Olympic trials qualifying time. Zachary Hayden, unattached, came in for the silver in the time of 1:03.88 and Chris Wills, unattached was third with a 1:04.69.

For her second top three finish of the night Martin of the Iowa Flyers, won the women’s 200 freestyle. She took gold with the time of 2:01.53 and qualified for Olympic trials. Melissa Pish of Wave Bloomington came on second place with a 2:03.60 and Barrington Swim Club’s Kristen Jacobsen came in third place with a 2:04.23.

Aidan Keen of the Iowa Flyers Swim Club won the men’s 200 freestyle tonight in the time of 1:53.92. Chicago Wolfpack took the silver and bronze in the event. Reilly Shields touched the wall in the time of 1:55.03 for second place and teammate Jacob Furlong went a 1:56.31 for third place.

In the women’s 100 butterfly, for her second top three finish of the night Mitchell Aquatic’s Waddell won the event in the time of 1:02.02. Lin-Marr Swim Team’s Kelsey Drake finished in a close second with a 1:02.29 and Sarah Schemmel of Piranhas Swim Club took bronze with a 1:03.15.

Pleasant Prairie’s Stephan Yemm won the men’s 100 butterfly. He took the gold with the time of 56.07. Lake Country’s Mark Johnson came in second place with a 56.41 and close behind was Mark McGlaughlin of the Iowa Flyers with a 56.65 for third place.

Kaitlynn Wheeler of the Springfield YMCA took gold in the women’s 200 IM. She went a 2:18.99 for the win, just short of the Olympic trials cut. Unattached Samantha Stratford came in second place in the time of 2:20.13 and Katherine Roberts, unattached finished third (2:22.50).

Winning the men’s 200 IM was Sam Iida of Glenview Titan Aquatic Club with the time of 2:03.31. With this time he took gold and qualified for Olympic trials. For his second top three finish of the night, Iowa Flyer’s McGlaughlin came in second place with a 2:07.42. His teammate Saulnier came in third place (2:09.14). This was also his second top three finish of the night.

Full results available on Meet Mobile.

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Irena rajic
7 years ago

Ema Rajic made 100 Brest cut in the prelims (1:10.25).