3rd FINA Diving World Series 2009: China Concludes Successful Participation in Mexico City (MEX); Influenza Empties Seats

FINA Press Release

LAUSANNE, Switzerland, April 27 DESPITE the recent outbreak of influenza in the region, Mexico City (MEX) organised the fourth and last leg of the 2009 FINA Diving Grand Series on April 24-25, a competition that was nevertheless contested without the presence of spectators. In the Mexican capital, Chinese athletes confirmed their domination in this year's circuit, winning seven out of the eight gold medals at stake. The only non-Chinese title went to Ben Swain/Nicholas Robinson-Baker (GBR) in the men's 3m springboard synchro.

At the conclusion of the 2009 edition, China naturally dominates the overall ranking of the series, with victories in all the individual events – among men, Kai Qin in the 3m springboard and Bo Qiu in the 10m platform, and in the women's field Zi He in the 3m springboard and Li Kang in the 10m platform. In the synchro events, Robinson-Baker/Swain were the first in the men's 3m and Germany's Sascha Klein/Patrick Hausding triumphed in the men's 10m. Zi He/Han Wang were the best in the women's 3m synchro and Australia's Briony Cole/Melissa Wu won the overall ranking of the women's 10m synchro. Only divers participating in all the four events of the series are entitled to the final prize-money in each event, respectively of US$ 10,000, US$ 8,000 and US$ 6,000 for first, second and third place.

Before Mexico City, the previous events of the 2009 FINA Diving World Series were held in Doha (QAT, March 21-22), Changzhou (CHN, March 27-28) and Sheffield (GBR, April 18-19).

Men's 3m springboard: 1. Kai Qin (CHN) 510.75; 2. Yahel Castillo (MEX) 503.50; 3. Patrick Hausding (GER) 458.10

Men's 10m platform: 1. Liang Huo (CHN) 553.75; 2. Jose Guerra Oliva (CUB) 505.05; 3. Rommel Pacheco (MEX) 496.70

Men's 3m springboard synchro: 1. Ben Swain/Nicholas Robinson-Baker (GBR) 418.65; 2. Jevon Tarantino/Christopher Colwill (USA) 397.50; 3. Luis Huerta/Yahel Castillo (MEX) 386.46

Men's 10m platform synchro: 1. Yuan Cao/Yanquan Zhang (CHN) 457.38; 2. Patrick Hausding/Sascha Klein (GER) 437.70; 3. David Boudia/Thomas Finchum (USA) 421.08

Women's 3m springboard: 1. Zi He (CHN) 357.90; 2. Yulia Pakhalina (RUS) 344.05; 3. Kelci Bryant (USA) 311.10

Women's 10m platform: 1. Li Kang (CHN) 374.75; 2. Xin Wang (CHN) 338.75; 3. Nora Subschinski (GER) 330.15

Women's 3m springboard synchro: 1. Wang Han/He Zi (CHN) 332.10; 2. Yulia Pakhalina/Anastasia Pozdnyakova (RUS) 313.53; 3. Briony Cole/Sharleen Stratton (AUS) 302.52

Women's 10m platform synchro: 1. Xin Wang/Li Kang (CHN) 330.18; 2. Briony Cole/Melissa Wu (AUS) 321.90; 3. Meaghan Benfeito/Roseline Filion (CAN) 315.99