36 Named to British Olympic Team

By Craig Lord

LONDON, April 12. A BRITISH national swimming squad combining experienced Olympians as well as athletes facing their first Games has been unveiled as part of the Team GB bound for this summer's Athens Olympics.

The announcement by the British Olympic Association follows a five-day
British Swimming Olympic Trials at Ponds Forge in Sheffield where 36
swimmers — 21 men and 15 women — earned selection to Team GB.

The team plans to compete at the French Nationals/Olympic Trials in Dunkerque beginning April 18.

Commenting on the athletes selected, British Swimming National Performance
Director Bill Sweetenham said: "It is a team full of fighters. It's a
totally committed team that will fight to the death when we get to Athens.

"There's now 16 weeks to go until the Olympic Games and there is still a
lot of work that needs to be done.

"We're are stronger in some events, such as the men's breaststroke and
women's backstroke, than we are in others but we will be the best prepared
and the most professional swim team in Athens.

"The team has set high standards for themselves but they have the ability
to be able to achieve those."

BRITISH SWIMMING Team GB 2004 Nominations

Name Club Coach First Olympic Games
Simon Burnett Wycombe District Bob Pay Y
David Carry Aberdeen Dolphins Dave Calleja Y
Christopher Cook City of Newcastle Ian Oliver Y
Todd Cooper StirlingSwim Chris Martin Y
Ross Davenport University of Bath Ian Turner Y
David Davies City of Cardiff Dave Haller Y
Ian Edmond City of Edinburgh Tim Jones Y
Adam Faulkner Nova Centurion Bill Furniss N
Robin Francis Univ. Of Bath David Lyles Y
James Gibson Loughborough Univ. Ben Titley Y
James Goddard Stockport Metro Sean Kelly Y
James Hickman City of Manchester Paul Remmonds N
Matthew Kidd Leatherhead Ron Philpott N
Gavin Meadows City of Leeds Ian Greyson Y
Darren Mew University of Bath David Lyles N
David O'Brien StirlingSwim Chris Martin Y
Stephen Parry Stockport Metro Sean Kelly N
Edward Sinclair Millfield School Doug Campbell N
Graeme Smith Stockport Metro Sean Kelly
Gregor Tait City of Edinburgh Tim Jones Y
Adrian Turner Stockport Metro Sean Kelly Y

Kirsty Balfour City of Edinburgh Tim Jones Y
Rosalind Brett Loughborough University Ben Titley N
Lisa Chapman Loughborough University Ian Armiger Y
Rebecca Cooke City of Glasgow Stephen Hill Y
Kathryn Evans Nova Centurion Bill Furniss Y
Joanne Jackson Durham University David McNulty Y
Georgina Lee Camphill Edwardians Steve Collins/Gerry Thain N
Karen Lee Loughborough University Ben Titley Y
Karen Legg Ferndown Tony Watson N
Melanie Marshall Loughborough University Ben Titley Y
Caitlin McClatchey Northampton Mark Perry Y
Karen Pickering Ipswich Dave Champion N
Sarah Price Loughborough University Ian Turner N
Katy Sexton Portsmouth Northsea Chris Nesbit N
Alison Sheppard Milngavie & Bearsden Gary v.d.Meulen N