2019 Speedo Sectionals Austin Day 1: Longhorn Aquatics Dominates

clark-smith-texas-ncaa-2015 (1)
Clark Smith of Longhorn Aquatics, Photo Courtesy: Andy Ringgold

The first day of competition for the 2019 Speedo Sectionals at Austin, Texas kicked off this evening at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swim Center with the Longhorns and the Aggies each winning three individual events apiece. On the men’s side, the Longhorns are in first place, 56 points ahead of the second place Austin Swim Club. On the women’s side, the battle for top honors is close as only 11 points separate current leaders Aggie Swim Club from the Longhorns.

The top 5 overall team scores after the Speedo Sectionals Austin of Day 1 are:

  1. Longhorn Aquatics (290)
  2. Aggie Swim Club (226)
  3. Austin Swim Club (187)
  4. Nitro Swimming (133)
  5. Rockwall Aquatic Center (123)

Today’s events include the 200 back, 100 breast, 200 fly, 100 free and 800 free relay.

You can find the Speedo Sectionals Austin psych sheet here. Full results can be found on Meet Mobile under 2019 ST TXLA Speedo Southern Sectionals.

Women’s 200 Back

Aggie’s Karling Hemstreet dropped more than a second and a half to win tonight’s first final in a time of 2:15.61. In second place was Monique Rae swimming unattached (2:15.88) and in third was 16-year old Rylee Moore of Crawfish Aquatics (2:16.56).

In a close fourth-place finish was recent Stanford commit Lillie Nordmann of Magnolia with a time of 2:16.99. Tiger’s Brittany Thompson came fifth (2:18.00) and rounding out the top eight were Longhorn’s Kendall Shields (2:18.05), unattached Katherine Minnich (2:20.23) and Mansfield’s Madelyn Mechling (2:21.24).

Men’s 200 Back

Winning by over five seconds was Shaine Casas swimming unattached. He was the only swimmer under two minutes with a time of 1:57.34. Coming second was Elliott Jones (2:02.88) of Premier Aquatics and getting third-place honours was Austin Swim Club’s Josh Artmann (2:03.12).

Crawfish Aquatics’ Riley Brown came fourth clocking in at 2:05.39 with Mansfield’s Eric Stelmar grabbed fifth (2:05.70). In sixth place was Longhorn’s Braxton Moore (2:05.99), while unattached Nicholas Milikich (2:06.74) touched in seventh and closing out the top eight was North Texas Nadadores’ Johan Pretorius (2:13.51).

Women’s 100 Breast

The Aggies dominated this event with five of tonight’s finalists. Aggie’s Anna Belousova won a close race with a time of 1:07.50. World Championships medalist Madisyn Cox of Longhorn Aquatics stopped the clock at 1:07.91 for second place, while fellow World Championships medalist Bethany Galat finished third (1:09.14) swimming for the Aggies.

Aggie’s Victoria Roubique (1:10.51) and unattached Peyton Kondis (1:10.85) finished in fourth and fifth place. Rockwall Aquatics’ Alaya Smith (1:11.17) took sixth place, Aggie’s Kylie Powers (1:11.78) took seventh place and Aggie’s Esther Gonsalez Medina (1:12.69) rounded out the championship final.

Men’s 100 Breast

Winning the event for the Aggies was Benjamin Walker clocking in at 1:02.39. Longhorn’s Charlie Scheinfeld won a close race for second place (1:02.58) while unattached Michael Couet came third (1:02.75).

Fourth to eighth place was separated by just above a second as Longhorn’s Arthur Cheng finished in fourth (1:03.74) with his teammate Joe Daniels in fifth (1:04.11). Aggie’s Jacob Schababerle touched in sixth place (1:04.22), Lakeside Aquatics’ Teo D’Alessandro came in seventh (1:04.24) and Spring Swim Team’s Aaron Parrott came eighth (1:04.98).

Women’s 200 Fly

Lauren Case won gold by just over a second for the Longhorns with a time of 2:11.53. Aggie’s Sarah Gibson came in second clocking in at (2:12.83) while 15 year old Laci Black grabbed third-place honours (2:12.28) for Rockwall Aquatics.

14 year old Ava Topolewski took fourth place (2:16.12) for Mansfield Aquatics, Rockwall Aquatics’ Hannah Merill finished fifth (2:18.46) and Aggie’s Mollie Wright finished sixth (2:18.81). Red River’s Sarah Holt (2:19.60) touched seventh and unattached Isabel Tank (2:20.27) rounded out the top eight swimmers.

Men’s 200 Fly

The only swimmer under two minutes, Olympian Clark Smith took the title at 1:59.12, swimming for Longhorn Aquatics. Aggie’s Jose Martinez (2:00.26) finished second and Nation’s Capital’s Sam Pomajevich (2:00.39) finished third.

Touching in fourth place was Longhorn’s Andrew Koustik (2:01.18) with Hector Ruvalcaba Cruz of Streamline Aquatics (2:02.58) finishing fifth. Samuel Artmann of Austin Swim Club nabbed sixth (2:03.05), while Streamline Aquatics’ Beau Tipton (2:04.46) and Waterloo Swimming’s Ethan Riser (2:05.99) finished seventh and eighth respectively.

Women’s 100 Free

Longhorn Aquatics showed their sprinting brilliance in this event with a 1-2-3 sweep, with Julia Cook taking the win in 55.62. Finishing close behind were her teammates Anelise Diener (55.78) and Quinn Schaedler (56.08).

Remedy Rule finished in fourth place (56.23) swimming unattached, while Lakeside Aquatics’ Amelia Liu grabbed fifth place (56.75). 15 year old Riley Francis of Lakeside Aquatics touched in 57.22 for sixth, while Austin Swim Club’s Ella Collins (57.57) and Aggie’s Sarah Gibson (57.63) took seventh and eighth place.

Men’s 100 Free

Three swimmers swam under 50 seconds today as Drew Kibler took the title in a time of 49.45, swimming unattached. Unattached Danny Krueger touched a close second clocking in at 49.63, while Aggie’s Adam Koster snuck under 50 to take third-place honours in 49.99.

Longhorn Aquatics once again showed their sprinting depth, nabbing fourth to seventh places in a tightly contested race. Luke Bowman took fourth place with a time of 50.54, and Aitor Fungairino was close behind taking fifth in 50.84. Teammates Coby Carrozza (50.88) and Jacob Huerta (51.47) touched in sixth and seventh respectively. 16 year old Corby Furrer of Nitro Swimming (51.71) rounded out the championship final.

Women’s 800 Free Relay

Winning the first relay of the meet was the Rockwall Aquatics team of Karly Merriott, Rebecca Simpson, Laci Black and Emma Hultquist with a time of 8:24.88. Taking runner-up honours was the team from Austin Swim Club clocking in at 8:25.13, while Magnolia Aquatic Club finished third in a time of 8:35.83.

Men’s 800 Free Relay

On the men’s side, Austin Swim Club took top honours with their quartet of Brian Li, Jaden Luo, Samuel Artmann and Niccolo Velasquez who clocked a time of 7:41.75. In second place was the team from Nitro Swimming who touched at 7:42.45, and the team from Alama Area Aquatic Association took third-place honours with a time of 7:46.92.

The 2019 Speedo Sectionals Austin continues tomorrow with the 200 breast, 200 free and 400 IM. Morning prelims will begin at 9:00 am CDT, while evening finals will begin at 5:30 pm CDT.

1 comment