2018 Speedo Junior National Championships Day 5: Manta Rays Close With Relay Record

Photo Courtesy: Andy Ross

Speedo Junior National is proudly sponsored by Speedo. Visit SpeedoUsa.com for more information on our sponsor.

The final session of the 2018 Speedo Junior Nationals from Irvine, California, concluded with plenty of exciting races, including the team event.

In the team scores, the Mason Manta Rays won the men’s meet with 261 points.

Terrapins finished runner-up (230), followed by SwimAtlanta (214), SwimMAC Carolina (156), Irvine Novaquatics (155.5), Carmel Swim Club (127), Dayton Raiders (111.5), Katy Aquatic Team For Youth (99), Long Island Aquatic Club (99) and Michigan Lakeshore Aquatics (81).

For the women, Brea Aquatics won with 192 points, followed by Novaquatics (178), North Baltimore Aquatic Club (177), SwimMAC Carolina (168), Nation’s Capital (133), Clovis Swim Club (126), Fort Collins Area Swim Team (99), Waves Bloomington/Normal YST (95), SwimAtlanta (89) and Crow Canyon Country Club Shark (87).

In the combined team standings, Novaquatics won with 333.5, followed by SwimMAC Carolina (324), Mason Manta Rays (314), SwimAtlanta (303), Terrapins (238), Carmel (193), North Baltimore (182), Long Island (174), Nation’s Capital (173) and Lakeside Swim Team (128).


Order of Events

Women’s 200 IM
Men’s 200 IM
Women’s 1500 Free
Women’s 50 Free
Men’s 50 Free
Men’s 800 Free
Women’s 4×100 Medley Relay
Men’s 4×100 Medley Relay

Women’s 200 IM

The final night of junior nationals opened with a pretty closely contested race in the 200 IM. Claire Tuggle of Clovis Swim Team used a strong butterfly to take an early lead and hung on to win in 2:15.02.

Novaquatics’ Grace Sheble finished second after using a surge in the breaststroke to move from fourth to second. She finished in 2:15.80.

Third place went to Isabel Gormley, who was seventh after the butterfly, then surged to first after the backstroke before finishing third in 2:17.19.

Anna Havens Rice took fourth (2:17.71), followed by Claire Donan (2:17.92), Paige McCormick (2:18.47), Annika Wagner (2:18.53) and Hannah Foster (2:19.05).

Screen Shot 2018-08-04 at 9.15.20 PM

Photo Courtesy:

Men’s 200 IM

Two Mason Manta Rays battled for supremacy in the men’s 200 IM and finished 1-2 in the event. They also happen to be brothers.

Carson Foster led after the butterfly and held on the entire race to win in 2:01.14.

Meanwhile, Jake Foster was fourth after the butterfly and backstroke before moving up to second in the breaststroke and holding that spot to finish in 2:02.55.

Third place went to Andrew Winton (2:03.50), followed by Zach Hils (2:03.62), Jason Louser (2:04.21), Nicholas Perera (2:04.82), Shane Blinkman (2:06.11) and Tim Connery (2:09.67).

Screen Shot 2018-08-04 at 9.28.57 PM

Photo Courtesy:

Women’s 1500 Free

Bolles Swim School’s Kensey McMahon turned in a dominating performance in the 1500 free. She won the race in 16:32.94, seven seconds ahead of the rest of the field.

Paige McKenna was the runner-up at 16:39.96, doing her best to hang with McMahon, but was unable to gain much ground late in the race. Abigail McCulloh was third (16:43.40), followed by Juli Arzave (16:45.10), Abigail Kilgallon (16:49.59), Elise Bauer (16:49.84), Olivia McMurray (16:50.35) and Brooke Travis (16:53.49).

Screen Shot 2018-08-04 at 9.57.05 PM

Photo Courtesy:

Women’s 50 Free

Christina Regenauer of Condor was able to out-touch Alexandra Crisera to claim the title in the 50 free.

Reneger finished 25.73, just ahead of Crisera (25.77). It was the second close race of the meet for Crisera.

Emma Wheal finished third (25.84), followed by Kaitlyn Dobler (25.88), Megan Keil (25.98), Elsa Fretz (26.02), Rachel Rhee (26.11) and Erin Gemmell (26.14).

Screen Shot 2018-08-04 at 10.09.26 PM

Photo Courtesy:

Men’s 50 Free

Four swimmers broke the 23 second barrier to challenge for the title in the men’s 50 free.

Coco Bratanov was able to hang on and win in 22.60.

Andrei Minakov was right on his heels at 22.77, followed by Adam Chaney (22.87).

Topher Stensby finished third in 22.99, followed by Brandon Hamblin (23.10), Alexei Sancov (23.11), Skyler Cook-Weeks (23.12) and Cooper Deryk (23.22).

Screen Shot 2018-08-04 at 10.33.45 PM

Photo Courtesy:

Men’s 800 Free

Jake Magahey continued his strong meet with an exclamation point to end the individual events.

He finished in 8:03.71, four seconds ahead of the field.

Ivan Puskovitch was second in 8:07.78, holding off Jake Mitchell (8:08.87) and Kevin Vargas (8:09.16).

Thomas Bretzmann was fifth in 8:11.34, followed by Christopher Lindley (8:13.25), Dylan Porges (8:15.04) and Scott Pekarske (8:17.09).

Screen Shot 2018-08-04 at 10.34.46 PM

Photo Courtesy:

Women’s 4×100 Medley Relay

The women’s meet concluded with the medley relay and Brea Aquatics surged to the relay title to put a strong stamp on a strong meet from the squad.

Zephy Koh, Jacqueline Basham, Justina Kozan and Samantha Pearson won the race in 4:09.49.

Novaquatics’ Ayla Spitz, Isabelle Odgers, Hannah Farrow and Ella Ristic took second in 4:11.89.

SwimMac Carolina took third behind Maddy Flickinger, Desirae Mangaoang, Sophie Linder and Elizabeth Sowards, who finished in 4:11.98.

Screen Shot 2018-08-04 at 11.23.02 PM

Photo Courtesy:

Men’s 4×100 Medley Relay

The Mason Manta Rays concluded junior nationals with a victory in the men’s 4×100 medley relay.

Carson Foster, Jake Foster, Jacob McDonald and Adam Chaney finished in 3:43.63, breaking the championship meet record.

Terrapins finished second behind Andrew Rodriguez, Adrian Dulay, Andrei Minakov and Alexei Sancov, who finished in 3:45.66.

SwimAtlanta’s Keegan Walsh, Andrew Winton, Bradley Dunham and Jake Magahey took third in 3:47.56.

Screen Shot 2018-08-04 at 11.49.21 PM

Photo Courtesy:

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x