2017 Arena Pro Swim Series Money List: Margalis, Seto Early Leaders

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Editorial content for the 2017 Arena Pro Swim Series Indy is sponsored by Arena. Visit ArenaUSA.com for more information on our sponsor. For full Swimming World coverage, check out our event coverage page.

The 2017 Arena Pro Swim Series kicked off this past weekend in Austin, Texas with Olympians and amateurs alike showing up ready to race.

Olympians Daiya Seto of Japan and Melanie Margalis of the USA jumped to the top of the leaderboard after collecting multiple wins each. Seto, the bronze medalist in the men’s 400 IM at the Rio Olympics, completed victory sweeps of both the IM’s and the fly races, while Margalis was victorious in the 200 free, 200 breast, and 200 IM.

Seto holds a sizable lead over the men’s leaderboard with 20 points, followed by NC State’s Anton Ipsen at 13. Josh Prenot sits at third overall with 11 points, followed by Shinri Shioura (10) and Marcos Lavado (9).

Like Seto, Margalis holds a large lead over the women’s leaderborad with 19 points, while Marie-Sophie Harvey sits second with 11 points. Dominance in the 400 and 800 free boasted Ashley Twichell to third with 10 points, followed by a tie for fourth between Hali Flickinger (8) and Breeja Larson (8).


Photo Courtesy: USA Swimming

This year, the Arena Pro Swim Series will give out nearly $350,000.

The per-event prize money and Arena Pro Swim Series scoring system awards swimmers prize money  and points based on first-, second-, and third-place performances at each meet in the Championship final only. The prize money and scoring system is as follows:

  • First place = $1,000 (five points)
  • Second place = $600 (three points)
  • Third place = $200 (one point)

There will be separate Arena Pro Swim Series standings for male and female swimmers. To be eligible for the BMW lease, a swimmer must (i) be a U.S. citizen, (ii) be a USA Swimming member, (iii) possess a valid U.S. driver’s license, and (iv) no longer be NCAA eligible. The BMW prize will be offered to the highest finishing eligible male and female athlete who meets all the criteria, even if he/she is not the overall points winner for the series.

To be eligible for the $10,000 series bonus, awarded to the overall male and female winners of the Series regardless of nationality, athletes must no longer be NCAA eligible.

In the event of a tie of Arena Pro Swim Series points, the Arena Pro Swim Series winner will be the swimmer who earned the highest single-race FINA power point ranking.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Lakhvir Khosa
7 years ago

Nhi jaar

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x