2016 Junior Nationals: Day 1 Finals Live Recap

By Caitlin Daday, Swimming World College Intern

Everything you need to follow along with the first night of finals of the 2016 Speedo Junior National Championships.

Schedule of Events:

  • Women’s 200 Butterfly
  • Men’s 200 Butterfly
  • Women’s 100 Breaststroke
  • Men’s 100 Breaststroke
  • Women’s 800 Freestyle
  • Men’s 1500 Freestyle

Hit refresh for all the latest coverage.

Women’s 200 Butterfly:

In the first final of the week, Austin Swim Club’s Dakota Luther claimed the Junior National title in a winning time of 2:10.63. Luther finished in dominating fashion, nearly two seconds ahead of her next closest competitor, Ashlyn Fiorilli of Texas Ford, who touched second in 2:12.46. Coming in just behind Fiorilli were Tide’s Callie Dickinson and Highlander’s Carley Lowe, who claimed third and fourth places in times of 2:12.64 and 2:12.79 respectively.

Fifth place went to Regan Smith of Riptide in 2:13.32. Crimson Tide’s Jewels Harris was just behind Smith in sixth place with a time of 2:13.44.

Brea’s Kenisha Liu (2:15.51) and Fort Collins’ Coleen Gillilan (2:16.40) rounded out the top eight.

Men’s 200 Butterfly:

North Carolina’s Will Macmillan became the only swimmer to break the 2:00 barrier in the men’s event, taking the win in 1:59.76. Behind him Fynn Minuth touched second with a time of 2:00.43. Sandpiper’s Carter Grimes finished third in 2:00.88, dropping a second and a half from his prelims swim.

North Texas Nadadores’ Jack LeVant took fourth place in 2:01.30, just ahead of Spencer Carl of Michigan Lakeshore who was fifth in 2:01.33.

Andrew Koustik, represnting Irvine Novaquatics, finished sixth in 2:02.00. Maverick’s Alex Dillmann was seventh in 2:02.60, while Memphis Thunder’s Jack McCaghren touched eighth in 2:03.45.

Women’s 100 Breaststroke:

15 year old Zoe Bartel of Fort Collins won the women’s 100 breaststroke in dominant fashion. With an entire second drop from prelims, her 1:08.11 was good to win by almost a second and a half. Olivia Calegan of Greater Nebraska was Bartel’s next closest competitor, touching second in 1:09.56. Third place went to Champaign County YMCA’s Ema Rajic in 1:10.19.

Rajic was followed by North Bay’s Halle Morris for fourth in 1:10.29. Hanna Gresser of Firestone Akron took fifth in 1:10.42.

For sixth place, Rachel Ramey of Texas Ford swam a 1:11.39. Alicia Harrison of Buenaventura and Firestone Akron’s Carly Hart completed the top eight in 1:11.84 and 1:11.86, respectively.

Men’s 100 Breaststroke:

The top two men in the 100 breaststroke were both under meet record time. Michael Andrew claimed the win in 1:00.08, just off his National Age Group record. Second place finisher Devon Nowicki of Aqua Swim Club also came in under the old mark of 1:01.94, but still a second behind Andrew at 1:01.06.

Third place went to Spokane’s Daniel Roy in 1:02.22. AJ Bornstein of Ridgefield was fourth in 1:03.47, while Mason Manta Rays’ Jake Foster touched fifth in 1:03.78.

Dillon Hillis of Manhattan Makos took sixth 1:04.12, ahead of New Trier’s Charles Scheinfeld at 1:04.25. Mitch Hovis of King Aquatics was eighth in 1:04.48.

Women’s 800 Freestyle:

With a solid six second drop, La Mirada Armada’s Taylor Ault took the win in the women’s distance event with a time of 8:37.97. It was a tight race all the way between Ault and Magnolia’s Joy Field, with Ault pulling away only in the final 100 meters. Field finished with a time of 8:38.94. 15 year old Erica Sullivan of Sandpipers took third place in 8:41.52.

Fourth and fifth place were taken by two 14 year olds, the Fish’s Madelyn Donohoe and North Baltimore’s Chase Travis. Donohoe finished in a time of 8:42.10. Travis easily had one of the most impressive swims of the day, swimming in the afternoon heats and dropping eleven seconds down to 8:43.47 for fifth.

Greater Tampa’s Morgan Tankersly also moved up from the morning to take sixth in 8:46.53. Seventh place went to Sandpiper’s Hailey Houck in 8:46.55. Haley Yelle of Mansfield was eighth in 8:48.41.

Men’s 1500 Freestyle:

16 year old Johannes Calloni of Scarlet Aquatics claimed the longest event of the night in a new meet record of 15:16.62. Calloni crushed the previous meet record of 15:23.01, held by 2016 Olympian Jordan Wilimovsky. Also under the old meet record was second place finisher Aaron Apel of Scottsdale, who touched in 15:17.60, as well as Fast Swim Team’s Simon Lamar, who clocked a 15:22.03.

Sarasota Tsunami’s T.C. Smith took fourth place in 15:36.75. Fifth went to Alamo Area’s Mikey Calvillo, moving up from the afternoon heats with his 15:42.76. Joshua McDonald of the Cincinnati Marlins took sixth with his afternoon time of 15:47.74.

Eric Knowles of Dayton Raiders (15:48.84) and Sandpiper’s Nicholas McDowell (15:49.09) rounded out the top eight finishers.

Comments Off on 2016 Junior Nationals: Day 1 Finals Live Recap

Author: Caitlin Daday

Caitlin Daday is a rising senior at Villanova University. She represents the Wildcats in distance freestyle and IM. Caitlin hails from Allentown, Pennsylvania.

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here