10 Records Broken as MIT Sweeps NEWMAC Championships

Photo Courtesy: MIT Athletics

By Chandler Brandes, Swimming World College Intern

The final day of the 2016 NEWMAC Swimming and Diving Championships saw eight meet records and two league records broken.

The MIT women won the meet with 1271.5 points, their sixth-consecutive NEWMAC title. The MIT men also won with, their eighth-straight team championship.

Click here for live results.

Below are the top three finishers in each event.

Women’s 1650:

MIT’s Addie Chambers dominated the women’s mile, winning by over 17 seconds. The freshman demolished the previous meet record of 17:06.26 and snuck under the league record of 16:59.05, both set back in 2012.

1. Addie Chambers (16:55.88), MIT
2. Melissa Orzechowski (17:13.83), Clark
3. Cathleen Pruden (17:15.78), Mount Holyoke

Men’s 1650:

Another MIT freshman won the men’s mile, as Josh Graves took the event in 15:33.55, 15 seconds ahead of the rest of the field. His time broke the previous meet record of 15:41.81 set back in 2008.

1. Josh Graves (15:33.44), MIT
2. Taylor Rowe (15:48.11), Coast Guard
3. Parker Greene (16:19.04), MIT

Women’s 200 Back:

MIT’s Veronika Jedryka cruised to the win in the 200 back, posting 1:58.97 to win by over five seconds. That mark shattered the meet record by 3 seconds and broke her own league record.

1. Veronika Jedryka (1:58.97), MIT
2. Dorothy Ren (2:04.42), Wellesley
3. Clare Wieland (2:07.68), MIT

Men’s 200 Back:

Dougie Kogut continued his team’s trend of breaking records. The MIT sophomore won in 1:48.01, besting his own meet record by .40 as the only swimmer under the 1:50 mark.

1. Dougie Kogut (1:48.01), MIT
2. Luke Eure (1:50.12), MIT
3. Austin Von Heeringen (1:51.83), Springfield

Women’s 100 Free:

After posting the fastest time in the morning to be seeded first in tonight’s finals, Springfield’s Delaney Dyjak delivered, winning in 51.59. The junior dropped over two seconds in the event from her entry time.

1. Delaney Dyjak (51.59), Springfield
2. Amanda Wu (51.83), MIT
3. Jenna Hayden (51.84), Wheaton

Men’s 100 Free:

In the closest race of the night, WPI’s Andrew Bauer won in 45.41, out touching the runner up by .02. This is the junior’s second individual title of the weekend.

1. Andrew Bauer (45.41), WPI
2. Daryl Neubieser (45.43), MIT
3. Josh Tomazin (45.57), MIT

Women’s 200 Breast:

After her record-setting 100 breast earlier in the meet, Springfield’s Emily Medeiros clocked in at 2:16.12 to break the previous record of 2:16.42 set back in 2009.

1. Emily Medeiros (2:16.12), Springfield
2. Jessica Chen (2:19.66), MIT
3. Alyssa Carle (2:20.83), Springfield

Men’s 200 Breast:

Springfield swept all four breaststroke events with Michael Normoyle taking the title home in 2:02.28. The senior was .08 off his own meet record set as a freshman.

1. Michael Normoyle (2:02.28), Springfield
2. Dan Moreno (2:03.17), Coast Guard
3. Brandon McKenzie (2:04.47), MIT

Women’s 200 Fly:

WPI won their second individual event of the evening as Jenny Day used her strong back half to get to the wall first in 2:08.44. Although the sophomore was two seconds faster this morning, she still scored valuable points for her team.

1. Jenny Day (2:08.44), WPI
2. Karen Wang (2:08.62), Wellesley
3. Maddie Severance (2:10.07), MIT

Men’s 200 Fly:

MIT’s Luke Schlueter won the final individual of the meet, taking the 200 fly in 1:48.66. The senior broke the previous meet record by over one second.

1. Luke Schlueter (1:48.66), MIT
2. John Matthews (1:51.39), MIT
3. Gavin Brown (1:52.50), MIT

Women’s 1m Diving:

Springfield’s Maura Sticco-Ivins swept both the 1m and 3m diving events this weekend. The sophomore won the 1m tonight, posting a score of 499.85.

1. Maura Sticco-Ivins (499.85), Wellesley
2. Morgan Matranga (463.05), MIT
3. Melanie Avdoulos (461.60), Springfield

Women’s 400 Free Relay:

MIT’s relay team of Jedryka (51.56), Margaret Guo (51.92), Chen (51.43), and Wu (50.98) won the final women’s relay of the meet in 3:25.89, beating the runner-up by nearly four seconds. Their time broke the meet record set by their team last year.

Men’s 400 Free Relay:

MIT’s relay team of Jeremy Bogle (45.52), Kogut (45.34), Tomazin (44.60), and Neubieser (44.34) won the final event of the meet in 2:59.80. Their time broke their own team’s meet record set back in 2012.

Final Women’s Team Standings:

1. MIT-1271.5
2. Springfield-921
3. Wellesley-750.5
4. Coast Guard-618
5. Wheaton-588.5
6. WPI-576.5
7. Smith-331
8. Clark-315
9. Mount Holyoke-294
10. Babson-145

Final Men’s Team Standings:

1. MIT-1478
2. WPI-1105.5
3. Coast Guard-1005.5
4. Wheaton-558.5
5. Springfield-493
6. Babson-373
7. Clark-303.5

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
8 years ago

Wow. Looks like the records were meant to be broken during these championships!

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x