Zamorano Wins 200IM By 0.01 At Spanish Open Championships

Africa Zamorano: Photo Courtesy: Singapore Swimming Federation

Africa Zamorano won her third title in as many days when she overhauled Catalina Corro on the freestyle leg of the 200IM  for victory by 0.01 at the Spanish Open Championships at Sabadell.

The competition is Spain’s second Olympic selection meet with athletes earning consideration for the team as long as they finish in the top two and inside the FINA ‘A’ time.

There were however no qualifiers on Saturday evening to add to the eight who have already booked their spots for Tokyo.

Link to results

(140819) -- NANJING, Aug. 19, 2014 (Xinhua) -- Bronze metalist Africa Zamorano Sanz of Spain poses on the podium after women's 200m backstroke final event at the Nanjing 2014 Youth Olympic Games in Nanjing, east China's Jiangsu Province, Aug. 19, 2014. (Xinhua/Fei Maohua) (ljr)

Africa Zamorano: Photo Courtesy: Fei Maohua

Zamorano won the 200 backstroke – in which she has already qualified for Tokyo – and 200 free before taking her place on the blocks for the short medley.

The 23-year-old – who will compete at her second Olympics following her debut at Rio 2016 – was 0.69 behind Corro at the final turn before a last 50 of 31.37, the fastest in the field, propelled her past to victory in 2:13.50 to 2:13.51.

It was though outside the time required to compete in that event in Tokyo.

Joan Lluis Pons couldn’t add the 200IM to the longer medley slot he had booked despite victory in 2:01.04.

Mario Molla Yanes was the first Spaniard home in the men’s 50 free behind Poland’s Konrad Czerniak who clocked 22.28.

Molla Yanes touched second in 22.69 ahead of Juan Francisco Segura Gutierrez (22.77) although neither man dipped inside the required standard of 22.01.

Lidon Munoz del Campo was a clear winner of the women’s race, stopping the clock at 25.07 but despite her domination over one length, it was 0.30secs outside the cut of 24.77.

Rosa Peris Simo was second in 25.87 with Marta Gonzalez Crivillers rounding out the top three in 25.98.

In the 200 fly, Carlota Torrontegui made up a deficit of 0.14secs at the final turn to overhaul Carmen Balbuena Heredia and win by 0.41secs in 2:14.09 to 2:14.51, although both women were outside the FINA ‘A’ cut.

Arbidel Gonzales Alvarez moved third at 50 and second at halfway to win the men’s race in 1:59.83 ahead of Francisco Arevalo Rubio (2:00.11).

Advertising: Shop At Swim360




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.