Youth Olympics Games: Boglarka Kapas, Chad Le Clos Post World-Ranked Times in Victory

SINGAPORE, August 16. THE second evening of long course racing at the Youth Olympic Games held in Singapore featured a pair of world-class times from gold medalists Boglarka Kapas of Hungary and Chad le Clos of South Africa.

Men's 100 back
China's He Jianbin claimed the title in the event with a 55.16, while Israel's Yakov Toumarkin finished second in 55.28 in an exciting swim that came down to the touch. Norway's Lavrans Solli finished third overall in 56.20.

Hungary's Peter Bernek (56.33), South Africa's Murray McDougall (56.68), Croatia's Ivan Biondic (56.88) and Ukraine's Andrii Kovbasa (56.93) placed fourth through seventh, while Kuwait's Abdullah Altuwaini was disqualified.

Women's 200 fly
Hungary's Boglarka Kapas vaulted into 15th in the world in the event with a swift time of 2:08.72, while Spain's Judit Ignacio took second in 2:10.11. China's Liu Lan rounded out the podium with a third-place 2:11.94.

Hungary's Diana Ambrus (2:12.90), Brazil's Julia Gerotto (2:13.74), Germany's Lena Kalla (2:14.11), Italy's Alessia Polieri (2:15.01) and Canada's Lindsay Delmar (2:15.01) also swam for the title.

Men's 200 free
Russia's Andrey Ushakov touched out Venezuela's Cristian Quintero, 1:49.81 to 1:49.98, for the title. Canada went 3-4 with Jeremy Bagshaw taking third in 1:50.67 and Chad Bobrosky placing fourth in 1:50.86.

New Zealand's Matt Stanley (1:51.59), China's Dai Jun (1:51.66), The Netherlands' Dion Dreesens (1:51.76) and Philippines' Jessie Lacuna (1:51.95) completed the rest of the championship field.

Women's 50 breast
Canada's Rachel Nicol won the sprint breast going away with a time of 32.06. Italy's Martina Carraro finished nearly a half-second behind with a second-place 32.44, while Portugal's Ana de Pinho Rodrigues earned third in 32.49.

Brazil's Alessandra Marchioro (32.60), Germany's Lina Rathsack (32.79), Greece's Maria Georgia Michalaka (32.90), Slovenia's Tjasa Vozel (33.14) and Lithuania's Urte Kazakeviciute (33.22) picked up the rest of the finale finishes.

Men's 100 breast
Australia's Nicholas Schafer finished just outside the World Top 25 with a 1:01.38 to win the event, while Russia's Anton Lobanov joined him with a swift second-place effort of 1:01.44. Italy's Flavio Bizzarri claimed third in 1:02.22.

Greece's Panagiotis Samilidis (1:03.08), Croatia's Ivan Capan (1:03.24), France's Thomas Rabeisen (1:03.62), Israel's Imri Ganiel (1:04.28) and China's Wang Ximing (1:04.55) placed fourth through eighth in the final.

Women's 100 back
Ukraine's Daryna Zevina snatched the crown with a 1:01.51, while China's Bai Anqi wound up second in 1:01.97. Russia's Alexandra Papusha finished third overall in 1:02.15.

Poland's Klaudia Nazieblo (1:03.07), Sweden's Lovisa Eriksson (1:03.40), Sweden's Ida Lindborg (1:03.60), France's Marie Jugnet (1:03.65) and Uzbekistan's Yulduz Kuchkarova (1:04.46) made up the rest of the finale.

Men's 200 IM
South Africa's Chad le Clos broke into the top 25 with a 23rd-ranked time of 2:00.68 for the win. Australia's Kenneth To finished well behind with a second-place 2:02.51, while South Africa's Dylan Bosch rounded out the podium with a third-place 2:02.59.

Israel's Yakov Toumarkin (2:03.44), Russia's Alexey Atsapkin (2:03.66), Spain's Eduardo Solaeche (2:04.09), France's Ganesh Peduran (2:04.21) and Japan's Takahiro Tsutsumi (2:06.18) finished fourth through eighth.

Women's 400 medley relay
Australia's quartet of Madison Wilson, Emily Selig, Zoe Johnson and Emma McKeon captured the relay title with a time of 4:09.68, while Russia's Alexandra Papusha, Olga Detenyuk, Kristina Kochetkova and Ekaterina Andreeva finished second in 4:11.07. Germany's Dorte Baumert, Lina Rathsack, Lena Kalla and Juliane Reinhold wound up third in 4:11.76.

Canada (4:16.72), Japan (4:16.80), South Africa (4:23.52) and Brazil (4:24.62) also finished the finale, while China was disqualified due to an early relay start.

Men's 100 fly
Korea's Gyucheol Chang paced qualifying with a 53.41, while South Africa's Chad le Clos touched second in 53.67. Serbia's Velimir Stjepanovic qualified third in 54.00, while Hungary's Bence Biczo finished fourth in 54.03.

France's Jordan Coelho (54.11), USA's Erich Peske (54.29), Poland's Marcin Cieslak (54.30) and France's Medhy Metella (54.30) grabbed the other transfer spots into the finale.

Women's 100 free
Australia's Emma McKeon led the way in the sprint event with a 55.64, while China's Tang Yi placed second in 56.22. Slovakia's Katarina Listopadova (56.78) and Canada's Lauren Earp (56.79) took third and fourth.

Brazil's Alessandra Marchioro (56.82), Hungary's Agnes Bucz (56.97), Switzerland's Danielle Villars (57.22) and USA's Jordan Mattern (57.36) rounded out the back half of the championship field.