YMCA Long Course Nationals: Three More Meet Records Set to Conclude Meet

By David Rieder

ATLANTA, Georgia, July 29. THE YMCA Long Course Nationals came to a close at the Georgia Tech Aquatic Center with three more YMCA national records achieved. In the end, Middle Tyger showed their superiority, winning the meet with 1284 points. Sarasota came in second with 659 points, edging Upper Main Line, which recorded 647 points.

Hickory's Sava Turcanu kicked off the evening's action with a new record in the men's 800 free. Turcanu clocked 8:22.11 to obliterate Ty Perkins' mark of 8:25.09 set back in 2009. Tri-Hampton's Dylan Ludwick grabbed second in 8:24.48, also well under Perkins' mark, while Somerset Hills' Bradley Wachenfeld picked up third in 8:29.51.

Countryside's Steven Zimmerman completed a sweep of men's backstrokes with a 26.61 in the 50 back. Zimmerman edged Upper Main Line's Nic Graesser, who touched in 26.63. Mon Valley's Eric Forrester ended up third in 27.31. On the women's side, Pawel Crosley's Celia Oberholzer grabbed the 50 back win in 30.20. Elkins' Courtney Miller finished second in 30.56, and West Monmouth's Emily O'Neill placed third in 30.82.

Wycoff's Leo Lim blazed the final 50 meters to take down Middle Tyger's David Ingraham in the men's 200 fly, 2:03.50 to 2:03.82. Greater Flint's Andrew Yunker touched third in 2:05.30. Yunker's teammate Courtney Weaver picked up the win in the women's 200 fly in 2:15.72, while North Shore's Astrid Swensen took second in 2:16.84. Sarasota's Nancy Hu ended up third in 2:19.28.

Red Bank's Harrison Cefalo won a tight final in the men's 100 breast in 1:06.30. Rapid Area's Matthew Hooper took second in 1:06.43, followed closely by Somerset Valley's Sean Johnson, who touched in 1:06.44. Conversely, Rappahannock's Kayla Brumbaum dominated the women's 100 breast in 1:11.94. Meanwhile, ME Lyons's Gabbie Pettinichi touched out Greater Holyoke's Meriza Werenski, 1:14.60 to 1:14.61.

Middle Tyger won all four relays on the final night, two in national record time. Ali Snover, Morgan Brooks, Molly Willingham, and Katrina Konopka won the women's 200 free relay in 1:47.81, breaking Anne Arundel's 2009 national record of 1:48.31. Snover, Monica Milici, Sarah Beth Drake, and Konopka also won the 400 medley relay in 4:23.04.

Robert Borowicz, David Ingraham, Jared Kauffman, and Justin Mehl won the men's 200 free relay in 1:36.38, and the foursome returned later with Kauffman swimming before Ingraham to clock 3:54.41 in the 400 medley relay. That Middle Tyger foursome ended the meet with a bang, beating the national record of 3:55.98 that Upper Main Line set in 2010.