World Deaf Swimming Championships: Aksana Petrushenka Sets Deaf World Record; Marcus Titus Sweeps Breaststrokes

COIMBRA, Portugal, August 11. MARCUS Titus dominated the field in the 100 breaststroke today at the World Deaf Swimming Championships, posting a meet record and coming close to the time he swam at the USA Swimming national championships last week.

Titus swam a 1:01.15 in today's final, just off the 1:00.82 he swam to place third at nationals last week. The time was a meet record, which belonged to Titus, with a 1:01.56. He still has a long way to go to break the deaf world record of 1:00.00, which Titus swam at the 2009 USA Swimming nationals.

Placing second in the 100 breast was Ruslan Lebedev of Russia with a 1:06.77, and earning the bronze was Andriy Zurgalidze of Ukraine with a 1:07.17.

Aksana Petrushenka of Belarus crushed her own deaf world record in the women's 100 breast with a winning time of 1:12.34. The old record was a 1:13.49, which she swam in 2009. The time also broke her meet record of 1:14.32 from prelims. The silver medal went to Iryna Tereshchenko of Ukraine with a 1:15.06, and bronze went to Natalia Deeva of Belarus with a 1:15.92.

Artur Pioro started off today's finals with a meet record in the men's 1500 freestyle with a 16:22.31. He broke the meet record of 16:46.28 set by Nicky Lange in 2007. Vitally Obotin of Russia was second with a 16:40.71 and Jack McComish of Great Britain finished third in 16:59.30.

Another meet record fell in the women's 800 freestyle, this time by Rebecca Meyers of the United States with a 9:16.22. Meyers had set the previous record in prelims with a 9:26.83. Anna Tovsta was second with a 9:26.16 in finals, with Samantha Elam of the United States placing third.

Russia's Ilya Trishkin set a meet record in the men's 200 IM with a 2:09.08. His time crushed the previous record of 2:12.52 by Bjorn Koch, set in 2007. Second place went to Callum Ross of Great Britain with a 2:11.17, and in third was Ryutaro Ibara of Japan with a 2:11.19.

Luca Germano of Italy took the men's 100 freestyle title with a 52.52, with Guilherme Kabbach of Brazil taking silver in 53.72. Bronze went to Denys Bystrevskyi of Ukraine with a 54.29.

The women's 100 free title went to Peggy Liang of the United States in 59.57. Ganna Lytvynenko of Ukraine took second in 59.74, with Peggy De Villiers of South Africa placing third with a 1:00.54.