Video Interview: NCAA D3 100 Fly Winner Karl Mering of Whitman

NCAA Championship editorial coverage is proudly sponsored by Competitor Swim. Visit for more information on our sponsor. For all the latest coverage, check out our event coverage page.

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana, March 20. WHITMAN’s Karl Mering touched out Connecticut’s Samuel Gill, 47.91 to 47.92, for the men’s 100-yard fly crown at the NCAA Division III Championships.

The finish was just half-a-second off Wyatt Ubellacker’s 2013 NCAA D3 record of 47.34. Middlebury’s Ian MacKay finished third in 48.10.

Washington U’s Reed Dalton (48.37), Amherst’s Perrin Bulakul (48.62), St. Thomas’ Michael Lanz (48.81), Rose-Hulman’s Orion Martin (49.33) and Kenyon’s Chris Josephson (49.49) also scored big final points for their squads. Following the 100 fly, Denison still held a slight 226-211 lead ahead of Kenyon.

Share and Tweet This Story
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial